Don't miss a single opportunity

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Today was the first time I've gone to the gym alone, after two weeks of having my son with me. He headed back to college after the winter break, so now it is just me. Though I had a great workout, I did miss my workout buddy.

sport-2726736_640.jpg

This is not the first time I've experienced this. When he first went to college in the fall I had the same feelings of loneliness after he was gone.

Of course, soon I'll get over it and forget the feeling. Except, this time I'm posting it here to remind myself to take advantage of every minute the family gets together. Most are so caught up in their own lives we rarely participate in family time. So this is important.

Thinking back, I remember having the same emotions with my older children after not giving them the time they deserved. And yet I still relearn the lesson over and over, once it is too late.

So, I guess this post is for all the fathers out there. Don't let a moment slip by with your kids. Embrace every moment to create memories for future you, and for future them. Because later, that may be all you have.

Sort:  

This is so important to not forget, yet so easy to do so with the day to day stuff going around.

It is a daily struggle, but well worth it.

Thank you so much Adam. We might be around the same age. However, I have a young family. I always worked so much that I just never stopped. My kids are at that age and coming on where they need my attention. Conversely, I work with challenging youth who also always need my attention. Sometimes, I struggle with finding the balance. It is important to keep your admonition in mind because, I do not want to regret missing this critical time with them. Thanks again.

Yes, it is all very important. When they are younger it builds expectation for the future by taking the time earlier in their lives. Then later they help keep you on track. ;-)