5 Seconds That Will Change The Rest Of Your Life! (Video)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

This is awesome!

The obvious trick right under our noses -  I must admit, I'm sharing this for purely selfish reasons... I want to see as many people benefit from this as humanly possible. I love how she (Mel Robbins) presents this simple formula... When I think back on my life to the things that worked, they all began with this. This interview is easily worth your time. The technique is dead simple, but profound and powerful.

The greatest change I've seen in my own life has a been a direct result of feeling the fear and having the doubts, facing them and acting anyway. Without thinking, in areas I know I've already made the right decision to act upon. Allowing my best self to step forward. To emerge. The trick is, in relizing it won't necessarily be your best self, at the beginning.

Starting anything new, you'll be a novice, to a degree. Even if you bring some skills and raw talent to bear.

There is always room to improve. But through doing, taking action and training the will to move toward the thing you desire, you become the thing you want to be, the person you need to be and always were, only now you're ready, because you've chiseled the marble, like Michaelangelo, to remove all that isn't the 'I.' Which always wants your greatest good to come forth.

This technique also reminds me of learning to play an instrument.
I've played drums for many years now, and in the beginning the coordination of -effectively- multiple instruments at once is rather difficult. To sit behind a drum set and do anything near what you have in your mind, it's tough to get one thing working in-synch with anther, to keep the high hat in time with the bass drum and the bass drum in time with the snare. One trick that can be helpful, initially is to count (audibly) out the timing of what your playing. 1-2-3-4,
1-2-3-4.

It helps to train your brain, toward where you want to go, and although it may seem silly or unnecessary, it does bring a coherence, a kind of confidence to the practice. Where, if nothing else changes, it remains a constant.

So as you begin to see yourself progress, you eventually drop the need for counting, audibly or internally, but it's hardwired a pathway in your brain, training it on what the intended outcome is. Allowing everything to fall into place around that count, or as some prefer metronome.


Take the plunge



(Side-note: Now I want to visit Glacier National Park;)

It's in the giving-in that we wind up by default creating patterns that negate this.
The good news is they can be changed with the snap of your fingers. Just like that! 

(What are you waiting for?)
5-4-3-2-1... Go!

Sort:  

Thank you for this @Adamthor

Thanks for your appreciating it, Hilarski. :)
I appreciate that.