You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Does Poverty Exist?

in #life7 years ago

Great Post! While I'm certain poverty exists, the global community is unable to agree upon a common definition. Currently we deal with arbitrary currency measurements like $1 a day. Alternatively, poverty is often conflated with separate but related issues like nutrition, education, medicine, and bigotry. The fact currently remains that the quality of life enjoyed by the 99% gets better as the 1% gets richer. Solving the issue of nutrition; that's a question that should be considered long before addressing poverty. Thanks for sharing!

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this important topic.

I'm not sure that I agree that the lives of 99% improves while 1% get richer but in saying that - I think that I understand where you're coming from eg. living longer, shelter, water etc.

This stat from my last post jumps out at me:

The incomes of the poorest 10% of the worlds population increased by less than $3 a year between 1988 and 2011 (or $69 a year in 23 years), while the incomes of the richest 1% increased 182 times as much.