5 am

in #life8 years ago (edited)

5 am, I begin early in the morning, I’m on my way to the registry office to request a document, walking through the dark streets of the city, I can see the hunger on people’s face’s, I see their tired steps walking to work, I see the fear of being robbed, I see people walking with chairs to the market to wait in line for hours and try to buy any product on sale and hope to find food to bring home.

It is 5:15 am, I walk to avoid paying the bus and save some money, I turn back and see the beautiful sunrise and fall in love with its colors, black clouds lit with dark orange tone and see the sun appears between those clouds and I think about the beautiful things that bring us to life every day that some do not see it, I smile and walk thinking that even if it's easier to see life from a different dark and sad perspective and put aside things like a sunrise, admire a tree or a flower, I won't let anything to ruin my day.

It’s 5:25 am, I arrive to my destination where there is a paper hanging from the door where it states that institutions won’t work for several days because it is holiday for them, and now there’s nothing left to do than just go back to my house.

Clock says 5:30 am while I wait for the bus and I see people complain because they’re not going to work and noone warn them, I see people sleepy faces, and a wake up city from very early... Finally the bus is here, time to go back.

Phone rings and it's 9:00 am, I have to go to the bank now, so I dress again and walk the same streets I walked a few hours ago.

God I’m still asleep!...

I take the bus and get off at the bank street, where I see a very old lady not less than 80 years, mourn embracing a pack of dough to make tequeños and the store owner screaming, go away!, because she didnt had money to buy that and he can’t just give it away.

I walked through these streets and like today, everyday I see this sadness, I see poverty, I can see the hunger in their bones marked by their thinness, while they stand in line from one day to another just to buy something to feed those waiting at home. I see the pain in a 80 years old lady, I see her tears and the suffering for not being able to buy food to live a little longer. I don’t know if I can call that “a life”. I see my pockets and realize I'm almost in the same situation, because food is now a luxury.

I lost track of time, I don’t know what time is it now and I don’t even want to know. I just keep walking to my destination with a lump in my throat and the bad taste of deception and frustration because I didn’t do anything, while I remember the tears of that starving old lady.

...Keep walking, don’t stop, just keep walking, you have things to do...

That’s everyone’s thoughts now.
So much indifference while a few play with the hunger of many.
We are just spectators taking no actions until it’s our turn.

Sort:  

Maybe local food banks should open up Steemit accounts and users from their citys could throw some Steem dollars to them to help out. A little Steem could go a long way to fill an empty stomach!

No one should go hungry its not right when the privileged have so much Stay strong