My Love-Hate Relationship With Steemit

in #life6 years ago

​Let me just start by saying that I truly love the purpose of this platform. From day one, the idea of creating original content and nourishing from each other's knowledge in an on-growing community was enough to capture me in an instant. From artists to musicians, painters, writers, and God knows what more; there is literally nothing you cannot learn here.

But lately, it has come to mind that the reason why my feedback has been almost nonexistent is that I’m not as socially active as I should be in chat-rooms. And frankly, as an introvert and socially-anxious person, it has been the most challenging part of the ride so far.

I'm not naturally a very social person, and because of this, social media often gives me the feeling that I need always to be logged in. As if I can't ever escape it, otherwise I don't exist. Don't believe me? Try turning your phone off for a week and then reuniting with your friends. They're most likely going to talk about a meme or a video that went viral. And that you know nothing about.

To some introverts, the idea of talking to other people through a screen isn't something scary; in fact, it actually feels like Disneyland to them. But to others, like me, checking the phone regularly just to see if someone send a message, not only feels like an obligation of always being connected, but it's also quite energy draining.

And lately, I've gotten the feeling that in order to become "someone" on Steemit; you need to interact and gain your place through bonding with the right people, and that's been a bit discouraging for me, to the point, I don't write as regularly as I used to.

A part of me believes in the real potential Steemit has as a social media platform, and that's one of the main reasons why I haven't left. I do think it's possible to grow and become massive, but a lot needs to change in order for that to happen.

I wish content would actually matter and the number of people you are friends with wouldn't. I wish you could get rewards according to the efforts you put on your post and I wish people would read more instead of just posting whatever crosses their minds.

Sometimes Steemit feels like the typical American movie where there's a cool kids table everyone wants to sit in, but no one really gets invited. And that sort of sucks because, let's be honest, nothing good ever happens in those movies. We all want Steemit to grow, but in a way, we don't because we hate the way it's currently functioning right now.

Unfortunately, it has become a clear example of the world we live in. And it doesn't really matter if I grow tired of it, fed up with it, or even if I write a ranting post about it because, at the end of the day, we know we'll all be here by morning.

But, sure it feels good to get the anger out.


Image Source: I, II

Sort:  

Great thought's but in steemit people decided to read article by their reputation level just hoping for upvote and curation reward , Nobody gives damn about quality here now days :/ @agsttne well i like the part about american move hehe it's truth though ♥

Yeah, that sucks, but I think the change has to start with us. In my case, since I wasn't really able to read as much as I wanted to, I decided to delegate my Steem Power almost entirely to someone who could.

I think small changes do make an enormous difference in the long run.​

Great rant post that deserves more attention.

It is indeed about who you know, and when you know them, and luck, and timing, and who likes who when. There are so many huge opportunities on steemit that come and go all the time, but those of us in the trenches are doing it all the low and slow way, like a crockpot, hoping for the best.

'We'll all be here by morning' is true because there is still money involved, and the potential for money, and that's what keeps us coming back.

With thousands of people joining steemit daily (or whatever crazy number), I'm not sure if that gives our better content more potential to be seen...or more of a chance to get buried by junk. I fear the latter.

Congratulations @agsttne! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi! Same here. I love creating content. So easy, always have new ideas what to post about and how to make my post into the little product I want it to be with the kind of quality and style I had in mind. And well maybe here we are different, I am naturally inclined towards being on a team :). Doing things together with others makes me want to push my limits. But.... for me its more that I don't know where to get started. I've signed up for Discord and looked through some chatrooms. Seems like a lot of people just leave a link to their posts there and hope to be upvoted. For me its more trying to find out which way of interacting here on Steemit is actually meaningful and how to work together. I know you just posted about how the chatrooms and all are not your favorite place. But what have you discovered till now? What places are great for getting more connected with others on this platform?