Data Scientist and afraid of flying!

in #life2 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone, hope you are all having a great week so far. Today, I wanted to talk a bit more about myself. Yes, I am afraid of flying. I am not the regular afraid person. I sit down on the plane, I start praying, I start crying - making sure nobody sees me - and then I pray more until the seatbelt sign switches off. At that point in time, my brain says "that's it". All very normal.

I am not sure when was that moment in life when I started being afraid, if I am 100% honest. I used to take planes alone all the time when I was a kid. My first flight alone was when I was 10 years old and I flew Madrid - Tenerife to see some of my family members. Then just regular flights like 16h trip from Madrid to Toronto in Canada, still a teenager. I still rememeber a couple of flights that made me feel really scared, I think I started developing the fear when I was 21 years old. I don't know, maybe I finally realized that I could actually die by doing stuff. My life all of the sudden was very valuable.

On top of all this, I start getting nervous about an upcoming flight the moment I buy the ticket - like I sometimes wonder WT* I even buy it in the first place. But I do. Plus, I am a digital nomad and I don't live where my family memebers live, so I have to fly on a regular basis if I want to see any of my family members.

Some people think that I should be a bit more rational with this topic, as I am a Data Scientist. I mean, data suggests that it is really not probable for me to have an accident on a plane. Apparently, I have more chances to either win the lottery or become the next President of the USA. Actually, it is more probable for you to become the next President of USA than winning the lottery.

Anyways, I am not rational about this at all. The interesting part is that I have really never experienced anything drastic on any plane. It's just something wrong with the wiring of my brain. And yes, I am writing this post as an attempt to calm myself down before my next flight this Sunday but for some reason, I can't.

Are you also like this or I am just a very rational person with sligthly irrational thoughts?

autopilot-plane-90.jpeg

Sort:  

Hypnotherapy could probably help you.
Thank's for sharing.

I should def give it a try.

Congratulations @aicoding! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 4000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal for 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!