The future looks BRIGHT ☀️

in #life3 years ago

Have you ever been asked how or where do you see yourself in a few years by now? Lets say 3-5 years?

This is a rather common question hiring managers for Artificial Intelligence positions like to ask and it is a quiet difficult one. You might think it is a tricky question but I'll tell you a secret: IT IS NOT! What employers want to understand about you with this questions is basically career goals.

I have to confess 🙋🏼‍♀️ that for me at this point it is quite difficult to see myself in the future, the market for AI positions is too broad and will keep growing from now. I know one thing by fact ~ I am passionate about computer vision, but even though I specialized in it, the entry barrier is quite high, at least in the countries I have possibilty to work in.

I've covered so many different positions at this point: software engineer, machine learning engineer, deep learning engineer, data scientist...? What is the real difference? There is nearly any difference about these positions - and if you add more things on top that have emerged over the past years, like Blockchain developer, you will also see that there is a huge overlap. I mean, we are engineers - that's it - period.

Data Science for me is an alternative solution at the moment, to gain experience on paper and keep learning new things, and of course it is a good position to improve non-technical skills, which I honestly didn't have a couple of years ago.

I read an interesting article on why Data Scientists are quiting their jobs, and the main reason was because of not fulfilling their job expectations, which with my experience I can corroborate: not everything that shines is gold, and not because the job is trending, is the best for you. AI has many different types of positions and DS is just one tiny but general part of it.

We all have some dreams and goals, I have a few dreams which I hope I will soon pick up and convert into goals. I can for now grow as DS because I fulfill the requirements for it but maybe the future awaits for me as Research Scientist, Computer Vision Data Scientist, Consultant, Blockchain developer... or nothing just working on whatever I find more interesting at that time 🤷🏼‍♀️ step by step I'll find out 💛

Screenshot 2021-10-19 at 19.57.49.png

What about you, how do you see yourself in 5 years from now? 🙂 Leave a comment below.

Sort:  

Sitting on a small yacht (with my wife probably :D) enjoying the sun set at the coast of Italy or Croatia.

We made the license this year and my investments of the last years are yielding some nice returns. So it is not that unthinkable.

The yacht will be chartered though. Not going to spend 100s of thousands of euro for a boat I am using a few weeks a year :D

However, good luck for reaching your goals, always believe in yourself!

Nice - sounds super exciting. I see that type of goal as a long-term goal maybe in 10 years from now! Good luck with that to you too, hope you will share the experience with all of us here :)

Where do. I see myself in five years?

Well, I see myself as a graduate working in a well paid firm and living the life.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Great! thanks for sharing. Do you have any firms in mind?

Yes I sure do.

I don't have a name but it's would definitely be a medical firm.

Interesting, thanks for sharing

Always my pleasure dear

Well established in my field and probably very rich.
I think I would be married at that time or maybe contemplating it.

This should be a lot better then, I'll prolly own a few proler8i can call my own and by God's grace help a lot of people.

I'll own an art gallery and a dance studio to go relax once in a while and enjoy the beauty of art.

You're really good at what you do, that's amazing

Wow, love your dreams. I am always amazed by those who also share their passion outside a field of work Thank you for sharing it - your journey to come sounds exciting!

Why😊, thank you.
I'm glad you gave me a chance to share my passion too.

Thanks a lot for sharing yours too my dear

You are welcome :)

Sure 😊😊.

How's your day going over there???

Congratulations @aicoding! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 40 posts.
Your next target is to reach 50 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!