Happy Pancake Day!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

It is Shrove Tuesday today and in the UK we celebrate with pancakes! This is probably my favourite British tradition. I love pancakes! For those of you that are not familiar with it let me explain.

Shrove Tuesday falls 47 days before Easter for Christians following the Catholic calendar and is therefore the last day before the beginning of Lent (a fasting period in preparation for Easter). It is believed that it was an opportunity use up ingredients such as eggs, milk and butter, that were considered a luxury in older times, and could not be consumed over the 6 weeks of Lent.

Whatever your spiritual belief, I think you’ll find it is a super fun tradition! British pancakes are more akin to French crepes than to American pancakes so take note of this quick recipe by no other than the great Dame of the British cuisine Delia Smith at:
https://www.deliaonline.com/recipes/international/european/british/basic-pancakes

So I am off to get started on mine. There are impatient visitors waiting!
Enjoy everyone!

764D811A-C9BB-481C-B6F3-1437D9482B84.jpeg Illustration©️@airlea

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://www.deliaonline.com/recipes/international/european/british/basic-pancakes