My mum, the best mum i could have asked for (featuring @nextgen622 as author)

in #life8 years ago

Attention: This post has been written by @nextgen622


There is a children’s song in Chinese, when translated, goes something like this: *In the world, only mum is the best.* *Kids who have a mum are like a treasure.* *In mum’s arms is full of happiness.*

In the world, only mum is the best.
Those that don’t have a mum, is like a grass.
Away from mum’s arms, where can you find happiness.

This was the soundtrack for a hugely popular award winning movie shown across China in the 1980s. Most Chinese people born in that era would be familiar with this song. The movie celebrates the bond between a mother and her son. It speaks of the selfless love mums have for their children.

Although this is not true of all mums, as I’m sure there are plenty of selfish mums out there,

This was certainly true of my mum

https://ipfs.pics/ipfs/QmcefG4HpnYFvhpSkUSba7i3LDy4ct9QGKuSoFgd6c5gPY

(Here are some snapshots from my memoir that shows the woman my mum is.)

At the age of 6, I was diagnosed with a degenerating eye condition that would slowly chew up most of my vision. I became legally blind a few years later, not being able to see the top line on the eye charts. The diagnosis was devastating for my mum, because growing up in China, it meant that I wouldn’t get a proper education, would have trouble living independently, let alone have any meaningful job prospects.

My mum and dad divorced when I was still only four years old, so when my mum found out about my diagnosis, she didn’t have much support. She had to deal with the shock of the situation on her own, but she didn’t shy away from the challenge. My mum looked for a way to bring me out of China, somewhere where I could have a brighter future.

My mum’s Selfless Love

https://ipfs.pics/ipfs/QmcQo1Vx7jmEVFdsHTvbv9pCG53uxUDRpMRqrgvQJ9Av5t

At the start of 1990, my uncle, who had moved to Australia a couple of years earlier, introduced mum to a colleague of his from the factory he was working at. His name was Gordon. Gordon and mum started getting to know each other over the phone, which Soon after led to him flying to
Shanghai to meet mum. Although mum’s English back then wasn’t great, it was enough to get by and to engage in simple conversations. Their relationship blossomed quickly and soon afterwards they decided to get married. Looking back, I believe mum’s decision to get married and move to a foreign country wasn’t driven by love, or more precisely wasn’t driven by love towards Gordon, because she hardly had time to get to know him. Her decision was primarily for me, to provide me with a future. I am forever thankful for my mum’s sacrificial love, for her sacrifice in laying aside her own interests to provide me with opportunities in Australia that would not have existed if I remained in China.

My mum’s sacrifices

My mum raised me on her own, which meant she had to take on the responsibilities of both parents. Growing up, I can remember my mum always working two or three jobs. She would work in the factory during the day, and then would bring me home dinner, and then she would rush to her night shift working as a kitchen hand at a restaurant. But she made sure that she would always be there to celebrate all the important dates and events in my life.

Now that I have grown up, married with a son and a second child on the way, she is still as selfless as she has always been. To help out my wife and I, you would always find my mum over at my place looking after my son. Once a week, she would also cook for our entire family.

My mum is truly a wonderful lady, and amazing mum to me. She is the best mum that I could have asked for.

To read more about my story, you can follow me @nextgen622, and read my memoir series. You can find Part 5 here

Jimmy


@knozaki2015 features authors and artist to promote them and a diversity of content.
@aizensou is helping with promoting new authors. By submitting your post to be featured you agree that you are the author of the article and that you grant me the publishing rights of it and that you are wholly responsible for any legal issues, it may or may not cause.

The author will receive 100% of the STEEM Dollars from this post
@nextgen622 is my favorite author and he will get extra 50% STEEM Power from this post payout directly from my own pocket.

If you like this post please support @nextgen622 and follow the author!

Sort:  

I want to be featured too, is it possible?

how to be featured?