This made me go "WOW"

in #life7 years ago

It was a Friday.

My girlfriend and I had bunked college to go for a movie. We were late and were walking as fast as possible to reach the theatre.

We were crossing a primary school. Children were streaming out of the school, some with their parents and the other were boarding the buses and vans but one scene in particular caught our attention.

A middle aged man was carrying a 6–7 year old girl who was crying hysterically. It appeared as if she was being taken against her will.

“I wonder who's he?” girlfriend said, visibly worried.

“Maybe her dad, maybe a relative. Let's hurry. Movie is about to start”

And we walked ahead.

A few steps, and girlfriend stopped again.

“What now?” I asked, unable to hide my irritation.

“ Sorry, but I don't want to regret this”, she said and started sprinting towards the school.

I followed. Knowing her, I knew she would do something foolish and brave.

The man was taking the kid towards a Santro. Girlfriend ran and stood right between him and the car.

“May I know, how are you related to this child?”

“ I am … uh…. her… Uncle” the man stammered, visibly confused at the sudden confrontation.

“ Oh, is it so” , taking out the phone from her pocket, “Could you please dial her mom's number, I want to talk to her.”

“ Who are you?” the man asked curtly, “What is this about?”

“Do it” girlfriend said firmly, “ or I shall call the police.”

I don't remember who was more shocked. The man or me. She just threatened a complete stranger, who might just be a dangerous kidnapper.

The man kept staring at us. After a few seconds, he snarled “fine” under his breath and dialled a number.

My girlfriend took the phone, “ Hello.”

“Hello”

“ Ma'am , is your daughter being picked by her uncle from school?”

“ Yes, but who is this?”

“Does your daughter have a mole on her right cheek?”

I could see there was a mole on the girl's left cheek. I stood there, stunned at the brilliance in which she was handling the situation.

“ No she has one on the left cheek” came the answer, “Is she alright?”

“Yes ma'am , she is fine.”

Girlfriend disconnected. We apologised profusely to the man. He was quite impressed by my girlfriend's presence of mind.

As we were walking down towards the theatre, I kept staring at her, with an expression of shock and awe on my face.

“What?”

“Wow”

“Stop it!” she said, blushing.

“WOW.”

Sort:  

Nice post ☺ followed and upvote you...hope so you will do same for me 😊 ami bd theke gd luck

Done brother 👍. Thanxx for your support

Nice 👍 experience @akash04.. keep posting

Thanxx brother. For sure. I will post as much i can. 😊

This post has received a 1.71 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @akash04

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

This post has received a 12.50 % upvote from @steemthat thanks to: @akash04. Thank you for your support. Delegate Steem Power In 3 Seconds... SteemThat.com