You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How will the overwhelming discovery of extraterrestrial life affect our lives and beliefs?

in #life5 years ago (edited)

I think the theme that planets is really interesting, has not only been an inspiration for my science fiction stories, but also philosophical thoughts, existential doubts, and many imaginary scenarios.

I would like to quote the following:

Indeed, up to 55% of atheists believe that there can be life outside our planet. A percentage that is reduced to 44% among Muslims, 37% among Jews, 36% among Hindus and 32% among Christians.

It is observed that, in the case of atheists, the belief in the existence of superior beings, is more than 50%, while this amount decreases when we enter the other religions.

If we start from the premise, that beings superior to us, have influenced in great magnitude in what today we know as "religion"; then, is religion a mechanism so that through the image of one God, to be superior and omnipotent, we ignore that it can be a superior race alien to our planet?

Theories like this, there are millions, are only born of human thought, and sometimes thinking about non-everyday issues, makes us more creative and aware of the world around us.

The truth is that, the truth does not have anyone until now, it is difficult to know, but even so it is an exciting subject for millions.

If we were to interact with any of these beings, all the bases of our religious beliefs would be weakened. We would be confused, waiting for information, and reviewing past writings ... Personally I think that we are not ready yet, even so I want it to happen as long as I live.

Excellent post!

Thanks @crypto.piotr for bringing me to this wonderful post, my best wishes for you friend.

Sort:  

Hello @aleestra

Theories like this, there are millions, are only born of human thought, and sometimes thinking about non-everyday issues, makes us more creative and aware of the world around us.

That is the main reason for this post, to awaken the imagination, to open the mind and to make us more creative and aware of the world around us.

Personally I think that we are not ready yet, even so I want it to happen as long as I live.

I was commenting down below about that. We may not be ready to establish contact with aliens and I believe that if they do exist, they would also be sure of them. They would wait for us to evolve into a less aggressive and more peaceful species in order to contact us.

Thanks @crypto.piotr for bringing me to this wonderful post, my best wishes for you friend.

Thank you!

Thanks for coming by