You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Toxic Fertilizers: Playing devil's advocate

in #life2 years ago

Hi @guurg, your article caught my attention a lot, in some things I don't share your opinion but I respect it, we all can't have the same points of view but we can dialogue about it.

Reading your manuscript, I agree with you that there is an excessive use of synthetic substances not only fertilizantsm also herbicides, fungicides among other products, the problem is the spaces in which we grow are natural therefore they have certain natural processes such as the decomposition of organic matter by those I consider are of great value for organic production known as soil microorganisms, with excessive use of these sustenacias such microorganisms can reduce their presence and the soil can lose its balance.

In this same order of ideas, we cannot put recipes to agricultural spaces because each space varies in climatic conditions, soil type, soil deficiencies, therefore, the product I apply on my farm is not the one you need on yours, ecosystems vary.

I am not against synthetic fertilizers, I am against their excessive use, since, sometimes they are applied without knowing what quantities the soil needs, in particular we have tested some organic products in pasture crops for animal feeding and pastures have had good yields of green matter when compared with some synthetic product, apart from that they can reduce costs so we elaborate with local resources from the farms themselves.

I also believe that there should be an educational campaign, things do not achieve by force, it should be done by demonstrating with facts that we can reduce rather than eliminate the use of those products and share use strategies.

I do not extend more, I really liked your article, thanks for sharing your thoughts, have a great week.

Sort:  

Your viewpoint seems sensible and you sound far more knowledgeable on the subject than I am. I was mostly trying to call out that it's a more complex issues and get people thinking about it more fully.

Thanks for coming by and sharing!