My Dad's First Jeep

in #life6 years ago

IMG-20180116-WA0000.jpg
My sister sent me this picture of my dad's first Jeep, and I was actually shocked to see an online picture of this car. Growing up as a kid, I thought my dad was the only one who had this kind of jeep, cos I never did come across anyone with it, not even in a picture.
This car was actually a gift from his mum and my dad clung to it,even when he had other cars. At a particular point, the engine got so bad that it had to be changed entirely. The new engine did not fit perfectly into the car, because it left the bonnet hanging. Then dad thought of a perfect idea "why don't we make an extension". So a construction was made which extended the bonnet upwards where the engine lied, in order for it to fit perfectly. This very act made the car look extremely funny. Here is a little description; the car was painted blue, while the extended bonnet was white. Looking at the car from the front view, it looked like a grinning car. The two head lights were the eyes, the white nose( the extended bonnet) and the teeth(grille). Dad was later transferred at work to a different city(which was more developed), and of course he went with his favorite car, even though we pleaded with him to sell it. Here in this new city, the car was very strange due to the high standard of living that anyone who sees the car must definitely laugh. My siblings and I usually hide our face whenever we are driving with dad in his jeep. The car developed some fault which dad wanted to repair, but we persuaded him to sell it instead.
Well, what do you expect?, there was no buyer of course, so he had to dismantle the car and sell the parts.
But guess what?, dad refused to sell the engine which is still lying somewhere in our garage till this very moment.

Sort:  
Loading...