Entry 2. Diary of a Mexican in Madrid. “The luck of these mexicans is the least envied by the spanish” //ENGLISH VERSION

in #life6 years ago

First of all, I would like to highlight the point that you shouldn't take the title so seriously and that, even with all the eventualities that my friends and I have gone through, we still adore Madrid. That being said we can begin.

In the last diary entry I hope you were able to appreciate a young girl, overflowed with excitement for the adventure she now gets to live, and I am for sure still that young girl, just with a little more experience gained.

ACS_0070.jpg

This is not my first time living by myself, I mean I´ve been living on my own for the last 4 years, I even lived a year in Europe and, honestly, even though I´m not the most responsible person I never went through any casualties. I would love to say the same about this occasion, but truth is not even a week had passes by when the first one occurred.

On our first friday evening, one of my roomies got home pretty flustered, when we asked why her state was 100% understandable. Some guy had tried to rob her purse on the street, he fortunately didn't get away with it, but he sure did leave a huge bruise on her arm. We decided she needed distraction to forget that unpleasant moment and we went out to party since, anyway her 23rd birthday was at midnight.

The party was good, nothing out of the ordinary but he had a good time, we got back home and everything was cool. We spent the morning after recalling the night before and that's when I noticed my wallet missing from my purse. I remembered I had been the one paying for the taxi the night before, I simply must have forgotten to put it back in and left it at the cab unnoticed. My stress level grew exponentially when I became aware that the lost and found offices didn't open until Monday.

I checked my cards and everything was okay, so I simply transferred all my money to my family, I also had no cash with me so money wasn't an issue to worry about, I simply lost the commodities to access it.

Monday arrived and still no news of my wallet, tuesday, wednesday, the week so on and still nothing. I decided to open a new bank account from which I´m still waiting to hear from, but anyway, I decided life goes on and that I didn't come all the way to Madrid to lament myself.

The weekend came by again and we decided to give the night life a second shot. Not an hour went by when another one of my roomates announced that her new iPhone had been robbed. We again acted on the spot and she proceeded to cancel her cell phone plan and block her cell phone since the phone had been shot down and was unreachable in Find My iPhone, a.k.a more than stolen.

By this point we couldn't believe our luck, and while talking with another one of my mexican friends also living in Madrid he reminded me that he as well had been struck by this luck at his arrival, since his baggage didn't make it to Madrid not after 2 days and by that time half of one bag had been stolen.

What do you think about this touristy luck? Without a doubt i do agree that we put ourselves in a vulnerable situation as well. But from all of that I've learnt.

Material things are NOT a matter of life and death, the come and go and are perfectly replaceable.
In moments of crisis you can 1. Cry and scream and wait for life to throw the answers at you or 2. Accept the situation and act in the best way possible to solve the issue (I recommend this one the most)
Torturing yourself everyday for past mistakes does not do any good, what does do you good is not forgetting the lesson learnt and stopping yourself from repeating it.

ACS_0067.jpg

And well, up to here the new entry, I send to you all the best vibes and, given this luck, I do ask for some of those in return.

Cris.

Sort:  

I went through your blog, you are doing great work. You will soon be very successful. keep writing.

you´re so nice! thanks a lot for your kind words!