THE POWER OF GRATITUDE

in #life6 years ago

It's been only a few months since I took on this habit, but it has had such a great impact on both my mindset and lifestyle that I feel confident enough to share it.

A few months ago I noticed how this girl I follow on instagram started posting her daily “highlight” every night, listing all of those things that had had a positive impact on her day, I thought it was cool and nothing more.

Days went by and I kept on seeing it and her testimonials on how much that simple exercise had impacted her life in such a good way, she sounded pretty sure of herself so I decided to give it a shot myself.

My list, I decided, would consist of not only the pretty parts of my day but in general everything that I was grateful for that day, the good and the bad, since many times the bad gives us even greater lessons and impacts our lives in greater form than the good.

As the days went by I started looking forward to doing my list at the end of the day, since my days had been pretty awesome and I started acknowledging those things for which I was grateful for right in the moment I lived them instead of realizing their worth at night. Right at the moment of all those pretty moments I kept thinking to myself “this is a list worthy moment”. Life was good, and the lists were long, but it wasn´t until i had a bad day that I realized the true worth of that new habit.

IMG_5539.JPG

I had a crappy day in general, I was tired, my headache treated to almost kill me and I just couldn't see the point of that day. By the time I went to bed making the list didn't even seem like a good idea since what could I write I was grateful for in that day? But I did it anyway.

To my surprise I could find not only one thing but more than 6 things to be grateful for, one of them being the simple fact that I got one more day in this beautiful world. And that's when it truly hit me, the power of the list, that in only a few minutes turned my day around completely and, suddenly I was not going to bed annoyed and tired, but surprised and thankful.

IMG_2397.JPG

I encourage you all to take on this little habit, by hand or even doing it on the notes of your phone, It may seem silly, but it really changes the way you see every situation, you suddenly stop questioning yourself with “why do you have to go through bad situations” by replacing it with “Everything bad has a good side, I wonder what the good side of this bad situation will be?”

IMG_1318.jpg

Cris.

Sort:  

Congratulations @anacristinacaru! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!