1000 Followers - Who ever woulda thunk it.

in #life6 years ago

Screenshot-2018-5-29  andyfishman.png

When I first joined steemit, I did so to follow a couple of content producers who had migrated due to the restrictive policies of Youtube, you might say I watch all the wrong stuff. I really had no thought of building my own blog. I started posting photos more just to amuse myself and not have a blank slate, but somehow, things grew and here I am with 1000 followers, ironically, my wallet is worth less now than when I had 500 and it seems to go backwards the more effort I put into building my channel, so it is a good thing I am not expecting a living off steemit!

DSC_0051.jpg

My channel might not be the fastest growing channel, nor the most valuable, but it is proof that you can build a reasonably popular blog without the use of upvote bots, and without upvoting yourself. I may not make a great deal on my posts, but it ticks over and builds itself up, and at least I know the majority of my upvotes are in fact from people who appreciate my stuff, not because I bought them. I would prefer one genuine upvote worth nothing to a bunch of bot votes and a payout. So to those who have supported me through your kind approbation and hitting the upvote button, thank you ever so much for appreciating my efforts, makes it worth while.

DSC_0146.jpg

When I first came here, I had no idea of how to build a blog or what content I was going to provide, but it just kinda worked out that people liked the photos I took of the wildlife and birds I would see around me. For many who live internationally, they do not see the wildlife I take for granted every day. So, coupled with photos of my lovely city, my blog came together as a naturalist photography blog, and people seem to like that. Throw in a bit of fishing and the course was set. Here I am 6 months later, and many photos posted, and it seems I took a reasonable choice if the wonderful comments that are left on the majority of my posts are anything to go by. To those who have been so friendly and have commented on my work, once or many times, I thank you all.

DSC_0269.jpg

And to those who put in their own efforts to share their experiences, photos and thoughts in their own blogs, those who make steemit the interesting place it is to visit, thank you for your efforts. For those who have given up because they are not growing fast enough, not earning enough or are just not interested in putting in any effort, your channel will grow commensurate to the effort you invest. No effort leads to no return. It will not just grow itself, and no-one is going to grow it for you.

DSC_0193.jpg

I especially would like to mention a few people who have made my experience much more than it would have been without them. Check out their blogs when you get an opportunity.

@choogirl and the teamaustralia team - great work and thanks.

DSC_0105a.jpg

@melinda010100 - Love the shadows.

DSC_0287.jpg

@realtreebivvy - May Tight lines and bent rods be yours always.

DSC_0276.jpg

@minismallholdings :)

DSC_0275.jpg

@papa-pepper - Stay safe until I get there to play with the creepy crawlies, or come visit and discover some of ours :) Awesome stuff!

DSC_0364.jpg

DSC_0366.jpg

And @skylines82, @freebeerfridays, @herleeb, @wizardave @four20, @cshera @direwolf @bethalea and @inthenow, keep up the great monitoring of our skies. Risking ridicule from those less observant is not easy, but is necessary. We may make little to no difference, but then, we might make the right person think about things too.

DSC_0272.jpg

@trudeehunter Looking forward to spring already, lol. :)

DSC_0110.jpg

@squishsquid, @benjy, @papacrusher, @myhuntingfishing and all of you who have made my time here the enjoyable experience it is, thank you from the bottom of my heart.

DSC_0072.jpg

Anyway, enough, thankyou to all, and if I did not thank you by name, know that your comments, upvotes and support are recognised and appreciated.

Sort:  

Congrats Andy!

Thank you very much.

It just keeps gooder and gooder :D

  • Just as fun as those other social networks, but we get to make a lil cha-ching!

Congrats on 1000 followers @andyfishman! Wowzer!!!

Thanks alot mate. A bit of a surprise would be to understate things quite a bit.

Congrats to you on reaching 1000! I love that crow on the lamppost photo!! Thanks for the mention and thanks for sharing your wisdom of the natural world!
Tip!

Thank you. I figured you might like the photo :) Thanks for your friendship and support, it has been great fun participating in the shadow contest and I always enjoy your photos.

Awww, thanks! And I like having a nature loving friend in Oz!

Congrats on the 1k! :-) Eyes to the skies my friend, have a great day.

Thank you so much for the shout out, my friend! I, for one, have thoroughly enjoyed you videos and photos. It was so great when I re-dedicated myself to Steemit to have another fisherman to connect with. Keep putting out that great quality and I hope you shout me out when you hit 10k followers as well!

Congratulations @andyfishman on reaching 1005 followers in only 171 days!

I wish you continued success!

@Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman in an effort to help others achieve the success you have!

I have followed and upvoted you.

Hi @andyfishman! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Monochrome Monday Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

This is awesome.and follow me guy's and I will follow back.

Thank you. And thanks for the offer, but I follow people who's content I find interesting, and do not engage in "if you follow me, I will follow you" exchanges. If you like my content, follow, otherwise, thanks for stopping by.