You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Choosing the Child-free Life: Is it still that controversial?

in #life6 years ago

If you are really desperate to travel, then I believe you need to make the effort and take the risks to at least try a couple of trips. You should then get more of a feeling for what you want going forward. Maybe the traveling won't be as exciting as you imagined, or maybe it will be more exciting.

@xramonahx, I believe you regret more the things you don't try, than the things you do try, even if they don't work out as planned. Life should be lived and experienced, not wondered about. You are still young and have time on your side.

Look at your life as a story in a book, and each day in your life is a page in your book. Each day that passes is a page turned, and you can not rewrite that page. So far you have turned 24 pages. How do they read? How would you like the rest of those pages in your book to read. What is your story? When you close the back cover, will you have written the story you wanted to write, or were you at least on the journey? Maybe you won't have! But did you even try?

Despite the best laid plans, life can take you in different directions, without your permission. Wherever it takes you, it doesn't matter. You just continue to write your own story from there. Don't be scared to follow your heart. Look at it like this... what would you do if you knew you couldn't fail?

Your perspectives will change as you go through life, and I believe you will know for sure if and when you want a family. You will not always think as you do now.

Sort:  

"... what would you do if you knew you couldn't fail?"
A question that will definitely be hanging around in my mind for the coming weeks, moths, years. Thank you for this insightful comment.

"So far you have turned 24 pages. How do they read?"
Do you know what makes me so excited after I read his part? Those 24 pages were pretty much decided for me. They were important, and I'm happy that they exist. But NOW, the next 50-60 pages, are completely up to me. I make the choices. This makes me unbelievably excited. Thank you SO much for sharing this.