Margin

in #life7 years ago

Margin. When I first heard that word I didn’t get it.  It just was not in my vocabulary. 

                

Margin simply means to stop being so darned busy.  Give yourself breathing room.

Right now I have very little margin. Each day is filled to the brim. Each hour, each minute is scheduled tightly. I like to have a schedule to keep me working toward my goals, but I need to add the goal of adding margin to my schedule. I need to schedule open slots where I can sit and stare at the wall if I want to.

When I review my goals for this year and redo them for next year I will have fewer things scheduled. I will have so very little scheduled that it leaves room for living life. Because no matter what I do, life happens. It just does. As my time is scheduled now, I don’t have room for life to happen. I wish I did. Every time life interrupts our well planned schedule we have to drop our activity and go with it. Whatever it happens to be.

Not like I can schedule life’s happenings. But with plenty of downtime built into a day we can adjust. We can say, ok, life happened (again!) we’ll just use this open time slot to catch up on our scheduled activities.