Writing is an analogue counter-balance to our digital lives…

in #life6 years ago

“The tired parts of the mind can be rested and strengthened not merely by rest, but by using other parts.” - Winston Churchill

2966479-Winston-Churchill-Quote-The-tired-parts-of-the-mind-can-be-rested.jpg
Image Source

Those who have been together with me as a friend will know that I often talk about writing being an analogue counter-balance to our digital world – not in competition but complimentary. Digital increases access and connectivity, but reduces concentration and focus – writing can be a private and solitary experience, but increases mindful focus. I use writing to help me to think more deeply, but I use the wonders of technology to share my thoughts with you. Turning off our digital devices is one way to overcome digital fatigue – putting pen to paper is another…

Back in my days when i was working at IT department, I spend the majority of my life in front of a screen. And people kind of expect me to do everything digitally and be almost dismissive of classic things. But it’s incredibly important for me to write down something on paper every day. It’s the same for my colleagues. Some of them build wooden furniture, some build train sets or old school air craft model sets, some just hike out in the woods and camp or spend time in their cabins with no interest. We spend most of our time working in the digital world but our analogue breaks are what keeps us sane.

latest.jpg

signature.gif

image

Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness