How I Almost Got Scammed, Part 1

in #life6 years ago

https://ipfs.busy.org/ipfs/QmQ1cWxmsxSNHhe6jAcsXbr4mGYdTjQusmgm7vZbDkEhs9

image source

It over six years now since the incident occurred but not in a hurry will it be forgotten in my memory. This wasn't my first but it has become my last as I have learned a great deal in the great journey called life. In the course of living, experiences are vital to hold closely so as not to repeat a similar mistake. Every day we meet different persons, some we know off and many we know not. In a world of over 7billion humans with different up brings and belief system, one can easily fall a prey to their evil schemes. It is said that in life there is two side of a man; the good and the bad sides.
In our religious place of worship, educational institutions, media, etc we here about doing good and avoiding evil or bad practices. We here how evil practices can bring a great nation to its ruin and we try to become the best we can in every one of our adventures. But what if our goodwill cost us a great deal? Are we ready to forget and carry on? I leave the answer to personal judgment. There exists a local name known as “419” in Nigeria used to describe con men. “419” as I will love to use it in this my work when describing my ordeal with these evil perpetrators.

My Experience

https://ipfs.busy.org/ipfs/QmaLus83Ctcdj4YWRmg7nX1iN2UAWrzSReZVethLZWkqCz

Map Source

It was one sunny bright morning around 10 am on March 2012, on my way back from the University of Lagos main campus, Akoka, Yaba, Lagos where I went to do my university entrance examination also known as “post UTME”. I had taken a taxi from the university gate to Yaba bus stop and I am supposed to take another taxi to Ojuelegba but due to some financial constraint, I decided to walk my way down to Ojuelegba where I could easily see public transport heading my direction (Orile-Iganmu).

I had walked for about half an hour, with the feeling of not gaining admission that year after what I experience inside the exam hall. I was feeling tired, hungry and sad, due to the fact that I went straight to the venue without taken breakfast and the fact of another wasted year in search for admission. My problem and I were walking side by side when a man ran towards me from behind, stopped me and asked if I know of a shop called Alaja Ibeke, off Ojuelegba road. I said to him that I know not of such place, and I am not conversant with this area.

That he should look by the roadside as he is walking down, that we are on Ojuelegba road. I left him and continued my lonely journey. He walked fast to where I was and started a conversation which I never declined. He told me how he came from France to Nigeria, how there initial destination was Benin Republic and how the ship he boarded never reached the destination due to bad weather. He told me how his goods were seized at the Apapa seaport, how some bad Lagosians stole all that was with him and how he was able to bring with him some suitcase with over one million voting papers inside.

After listening to all he had to say I felt pity for him, and I ask him, how is all this my problem? He told me how good I have been to him and if I can help him, that he will reward me. He told me never to disclose any of our discussion to anybody till our goals are achieved. I said ok, let me be of help to you. He told me that the first step is to go Illasa where a custom officer who is helping him is and see what we can achieve today. I was just nodding all through.

As we are about stopping a tricycle that will take us to the place a man of a height about 7ft, black in complexion stopped me and asked what I was discussing with that man, I told him that he asked me for help and that was all. He said if I do speak Igbo, I told him yes that I am of Igbo origin. So, we started speaking Igbo, he told me how the man had approached him and how he rejected the offer but seeing me helping the man is good.

That we can work together and when everything is over we can dupe the man. I told him no that I don’t operate in such manner. He said that I shouldn’t mind him, that he was joking. One thing leads to another and before I know what was happening the three of us is in a tricycle heading to Illasa. On getting to the custom officer’s place in Illasa I was made to pay for the transportation as they all claim that they are not with any money. I brought out 100 naira and paid for the ride.
To be continued…………………………..

Lagos is a state in south-west Nigeria and its capital is Ikeja. It is known for its high population density and it is a home of over 10 million people. It is also regarded as a place for serious business and entertainment. The story above portraits my experience with a scam group known as "419".

N/B If you like my work do well to upvote, comment, and resteem. As you do so may God bless you