Indonesia Zero Point Monument

in #life7 years ago

IMG_6162 copy.jpg

The zero kilometer point at the western tip of Indonesia is located in Sabang City, Aceh. As a zero point marker, built a monument located at the northern end of Weh Island. If the opportunity to visit Sabang City as the largest city of Weh Island, do not miss a visit to this Kilometer Zero Point monument.

This monument is a cylindrical tower building with a height of 22.5 meters. When viewed closely, at the end there is the emblem of the eagle. From this monument, you will be served with a view of the open sea. Not only that, visitors who come can also see a herd of monkeys that inhabit the forest.

President Jokowi is the first Indonesia president arrive at this Monument in 2015. Previously, BJ Habibie had reached the most western tip of Indonesia in 1997. At that time, Habibie was still Minister of Research and Technology.

At that location, the President launched the logo of the 70th anniversary movement of Indonesian Independence Day. The President also inaugurated the national movement "Let's Work" which is a movement of people's hope in 34 provinces.

Some pictures and videos I took with Canon 600D while visiting there.

IMG_6092.JPG

IMG_6087.JPG

IMG_6112.JPG

IMG_6169.JPG

IMG_6163.JPG


VIDEO:


"THANKS FOR VISITING MY BLOG"

Sort:  

Wow... the zero monument is almost done. I love sitting near the cliff to watch the sunset.

Are you living in Sabang? If yes, boy, you're so lucky! I've been longing to visit Sabang again with my family but haven't really got the chance to do so...

Saleuem meuturi

No, i am not living in Sabang. I am just a traveler who loves Sabang. I wish you can bring your family to this beautiful island soon ya. Saleum meuturi, @acheh.

Definitely worth an upvote and a resteem :)

Thank you @guccigirl :)

we have same in pakistan Zero Point And The Pakistan Monument

Wow, really? It seems very interesting.

Oh sabang i like it

Thanks

This post received a 3.3% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @arfa! For more information, click here!

I went to Sabang's 0 km a couple of times in 2005. I didn't recognize the monument in the picture though, is it a new monument? I can still remember the scenery from that mountain to the vast ocean, it was so so... spectacular. I felt like I was so tiny and that the ocean was so mighty. It was a humbling experience to be there just a couple of month after the 2004 Tsunami raging havoc in Banda Aceh.

Yes, exactly. This monument has only been made in recent years. In 2011 before I went there, this monument also does not exist. It's much better now. Hope you can visit again.

@arfa, yes I hope so too. We wanted to go there the last time we went back to Aceh, but the weather wasn't that good and the ferry was cancelled. We hope to visit next time we come back to Aceh for sure, InsyaAllah. Saleuem meuturi :)

i love sabang at first sight

Bagus.... terima kasih sudah berbagi cerita.

Thanks for sharing...
If you wish, please visit the place of tour in Indonesia.
my link : https://steemit.com/@basterarusdi
I hope you will upvote and follow me in future