Ten Reasons Why and How we made it 16 years together

in #life7 years ago


My roomy and I have now made it 16 years, together in this crazy world of ours. When I really think about it, I know that is not an easy task to accomplish, not in the least. So just how have we managed to make life partnership work?

1.TLC
I learned at around the 18 of eighteen years of age 3 primary elements of a stable relationship. Having a scientific mind, I was able to recognize many of these elements in my upbringing. I was fortunate. I had both my mother and father around all my childhood life. And while they did fight sometimes, it was not very much at all considering.

Through this experience and situational observation(s), I was able to determine the elements that made my parents marriage a success. Most might think that TLC means tender loving care. And it does mean this. But this is not how I use them. Trust, Love, and Communication. Like 3 legs of a sturdy tripod, this has been the basis of my stable relationship foundation. And it has worked well. All of the following elements are just functions of these 3 primary elements.

2.Intelligence
So to start, we are both males, and have lived together for over 16 years. My roomy is Caucasian/native American and was raised in a southern upbringing. I am African and native American. Believe it or not, both descendant of the Blackfoot tribe. How crazy is that? I prefer the company of men and my roomy is heterosexual. Despite our backgrounds, I do believe that it was and is our intelligence that has allowed both of us to look past some of the attempted to be instilled outlooks on our differences.

3.Similar mindset
From the very beginning of our relationship our interest in the so called fringe, eclectic, cryptocurrency, or otherwise just not of the norm was apparent. Now we both had someone of very similar thoughts to bounce ideas and concepts off of, in the flesh. While the age of the internet is awesome and our ability to communicate with vast amounts of people all over the world is great, nothing beats close proximity of a person with whom true affinity is held.

4.Unique
While our mindsets are similar, the way in which we both chose to express our mindset makes us both very unique. I am much more outgoing and people oriented. My roomy would be considered shy or a loner kind of guy and loves playing video games and working out. Our life's chosen method of expression keeps thing interesting around our home.

5.Empathy
I would say that we both are very empathetic. Having and being aware of our ability to feel one another's emotions has helped to establish and maintain a very healthy environment for our emotional well being.

6.Considerate
Being able to understand how ones action(s) effects another is so important. My roomy and I are very considerate to each other. With most of the stuff that I do, often times I consider my roomy and how it will effect him, and vice versa.

7.Respectful
I think often times that when people are together for any length of time, we tend to take the other person for granted. This tendency is dangerous and should be avoided. Being respectful is so simple a thing yet so often forgotten in relationships. A simple thank you goes a long long way in maintaining a stable relationship.

8.Supportive
We all grow at our own rates and in our own ways. Being supportive to your life's partner is extremely vital. Even if we don't understand or even agree, often times to hold a stable relationship we must support the ideas, thoughts, feeling and actions of those we care about.

9.Compassion
We, being humans are social creatures. We also have the ability to reason and to understand.
If you chose to be with someone for life, why not truly truly care about this person with all your heart, mind and being? My roomy and I are very compassionate to each other. This feeling of compassion is not easily explained. One just know it exist if you feel and have experienced it.

And finally one the most important and truly rewarding aspects of a healthy stable relationship. Intimacy. While sexual contact can be intimate, often times it is not. Even with those who are married. So how do we defined intimacy then? Both my roomy and I have never had sex, or have done any thing sexually. Most likely never will. Yet our relationship is super intimate. With warmth and true affection that we both share with one another. This has brought tenderness to our life together for the past 16 years, and I am sure it will continue for the next 16 years.

To all those seeking and searching for this kind of love, I truly with all my heart hope you find it and it finds you. Just make sure you accept it. For this kind of love may not appear in the form you have envisioned.