I recently turned 55...

in #life8 years ago

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I recently hit the age of 55. Not really an age I welcomed or dreaded. I think 50 was the big milestone and now I'm dealing with having hit that age.

I think that when we are young we set up milestones in our life. "I'm going to be married, have children and a house by a certain age." Other things by other ages. I think I've hit most of those goals but missed others. I accept and am happy with my life path. But now I'm dealing with something I hadn't considered.

Maybe this is a mid life crisis but I thought I already briefly went through it in my late 40's. You see, I find myself changing hobbies like I change underwear. Anything at all that I have a slight interest in I dive deeply into. Almost obsessively. I think it drives my wife crazy. I haven't the slightest fear of failing in anything I try to do. If anything, anymore I hesitate getting too deep because I'm finally learning that my attention changes so quickly. I've always had a number of interests. There is even a name that someone came up with called "multipotentialite" and a website www.puttylike.com. I'm not convinced though that it describes me.

Maybe I'm concerned about retiring and having things to do. I'm at least 9 or 10 years away from when I think I can retire but I know how fast time can fly.

I guess the reason for my post is to see if anyone has ran into this before and has any advice. And to just say hi :-)

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Happy birthday! I have a widely varied set of interests myself. I guess I always thought it was normal and everyone else was singleminded or just lazy. Maybe it is the curse of intelligent people. Look at Benjamin Franklin, he was into everything. Not trying to compare myself to him, but less intelligent people usually stick to what they are good at. Or it is a fear mechanism that keeps people grounded. Have a good time, don't sweat it too much.

I like that comparison! Thanks!