the sale

in #life6 years ago

Mauricio is going to visit a little nervous a new client who asked for the quotation of a lot of computers. The lot is very voluminous and therefore important for the Mauritian company, which has not had good results in recent months. This sale would represent saving the year. He has always been a very serene man and a good salesman, but with the pressure to close a business that implies paying his debts and obligations, Mauricio does not know if the negotiation will go well, if the nerves will betray him. He goes to the appointment with the new client, a fat guy in a gray suit and blue tie, a financial manager, who smiles at his desk and invites him to sit down.

-Well Mauricio, tell me, what brings me? -interroga the client-. Remember that I have five salespeople quoting this equipment, if you treat me well I forget them and I even recommend it for other friendly companies.

-I am an engineer, I know, do not worry, I will treat you well -responds Mauricio, initiating the sales offensive. From his portfolio he takes out a folder with the quote and places it on the client's desk, but he does not even bother to see it.

  • Tell me how much it is in total and how much of your commissions we can negotiate - the client proposes, smiling - if you collaborate, we all win.

"One and a half dollars, and my commissions are one percent," Mauricio replies, sure and looking at the client's eyes.

-Well, I think the sum is a little high and I do not think it's one percent of your commission. I want a discount of ten percent. But I also want for me, because I am the one who decides if you like me better than the others, half of your commission in cash. And do not come to me with that you only earn one percent.

Mauricio takes a deep breath and says he will see what he can do, he needs to make a call. Dial your cell phone to a number and ask them to tell the sales manager. After counting the situation gets an affirmative answer and smiling ends the call.

"I got him a twelve percent discount and two percent cash for you," he announces to the client.
-Ok, the discount percentage seems fine, but I want four percent for me.

-It will be very difficult engineer, we are almost on the cost and so we almost won nothing. You see, I am treating you very well, you can not complain. You know that my position depends on this sale and that if I do not achieve it, I could lose my job. I have two children in school and my wife sick. I can not do more, you must also understand that I am playing my life.

The client smiles mockingly at Mauricio's somewhat anguished face. But he remembers his children at school and his now ex-wife and he knows how difficult it is to get to the end of the month, sometimes. Try a final proposal.

-Well, Mauricio, let's not talk anymore. Give me the twelve that he said and three for me and all in peace.

Mauricio does not have the face of many friends now and his disappointment can be seen in his eyes. The customer is always right says that saying, but it is not always true, think. Check again with the sales manager and finish by accessing. The client then sends the check of the advance and prints it on his desk, and then he gives it to Mauricio so that he signs it. He signs it without much conviction, thanks, smiles, and leaves the office crestfallen.

When he opens his car in the parking lot, he looks wearily at the window of the client's office. There is the engineer, standing idly by. Mauricio looks defeated and hardly makes a respectful greeting. The client returns it with a slight nod.

Already outside the company Mauricio changes his face and now he looks a triumphant face. All his predictions came true, the strategy worked. One percent more than the goal that had been proposed. At a traffic light he sends a text message to his wife, telling him that there was business. He welcomes the decision of having gone as a seller to offer the product, because if he had presented himself as the owner of the company, there would have been no sale.
ventas-computadoras.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by IsidoraFranco from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.