A "Cure-All" Tincture On a Sunny Day

in #life5 years ago (edited)

IMG_3135.jpg
Yesterday was a true sunny So Cal day and that meant it was the perfect day to work on my herb garden and put on my herbalist hat and make some tinctures! Oh and collect eggs from my ladies!
IMG_9917.jpg
The copious amounts of rain we’ve been getting have given a new life to all that’s green and alive. My oregano and everything else has been thriving. So humbly grateful for that.

The grass is alive and happy as well!
IMG_0895.jpg
After this horrible flu season that seems not to go away, I regretted not having made any “Cure-All” tincture sooner.
I grabbed my gardening shears and my two favorite small baskets and got to harvesting. I love my Kumeyaay basket and my thrift store little basket with a handle. (I’ll teach you how to carefully wash baskets you find at the thrift store in another post).
IMG_3142.jpg
This tincture calls for these three powerhouse natural antibiotics- Rosemary, Thyme and Oregano.
After clipping the amount I needed, enough to pack into two large mason jars (I never like to gather more than I will use) I thanked my little plants for providing their goodness to me and my family.
I shake out the herbs softly and wash the herbs by gently swirling them in cool water in a large receptacle until there is no dirt, lil bugs (yes bugs) or anything that is not supposed to be there. The dirty water I used on my plants because to rinse organic herbs from your garden well you go about 4-7 changes of water and I hate wasting clean water.

I always set a rose quartz crystal to infuse a little extra love while preparing my kitchen magic too.
IMG_3141.jpg
I laid the herbs to dry as best I could on a clean towel. Then I chop them coarsely. I go by instinct as to me part of herbalism is energy work and we must go by intuition, but I usually use equal parts of each herb.
57575006910__28746650-2FC9-4F71-8DA2-9E5B01BE4BB3.jpg
I pack them down into a mason jar and fill it about 2/3 with 100 proof vodka. I pack them down with the help of a chopstick and fill the rest with raw honey. I like to add the honey last as it creates a somewhat antibacterial seal. I cover my jar tightly and put it away in my cupboard for a minimum of 2 weeks or more. I prefer to use amber mason jars like these but I was using them all up and used regular glass mason jars.
IMG_3147.jpg
It’s ok as this jar will be kept in a dark cool cupboard. Do you see how nice its packed? Magic!
IMG_3143.jpg
After a couple of weeks, I strain the tincture into amber or cobalt blue dropper bottles and use the preparations accordingly. Remember, these are tinctures and you use drops of this either sublingually or in your hot tea to evaporate the alcohol which is the best way to give to children. Use the amount directed by your herbalist or licensed practitioner.

I believe the universe has gifted us with so much goodness, knowledge and medicine and we should all be open to learn more about it and use it to our own and others benefit. Although herbal medicine is natural it has it’s risks and should not supplement any treatment that has been prescribed to you.

Have you ever used natural medicine before?

Xo,
IMG_1115.jpg

Please consult with a qualified healthcare practitioner before using any herbal products specially if you are pregnant, nursing, or using medication. This and any herbal recipe on my blog is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. My content is for educational purposes only.

Upvotes, resteems & Donations are loved! Merci 💕
BTC
3EnChez6mqJGzsLtFzrXiuAcwy26QcE4YS

ETC
0x2D7Af3A929caFF0408B7b876BF6Be84A656e9668

BCH
qqtplyavf9lgwtuvy595en9vvrl4y7j5aqptz6s6dn

LTC
LhTXkbJF7m4BrK2HFrF96xrKvoozRAy3w9

Sort:  

@artedellavita, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Once again, thanks for your support!

Not Jealous at all😬

B8DDC471-B54D-48E2-AF61-00B95DA22E45.jpeg

You got cuddle weather going on haha Hope you and the fam are doing well friend <3


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Woahh! What a garden I could learn from to beautify my pretty new terasse

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh it would look so pretty! Green=Life and all the pretty things that go with it :)

I am ON IT :) conquering that Flu!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I hope you feel better <3

Very nice recipe I will try that with our herbs from the garden.
We also use a lot of the Holy Basil for Tea and Hyssop for medicinal use.
Do you know these two herbs? Any suggestions on them?

Thank you! Holy Basil is awesome for anxiety or inflammation! Try it in some tea with a squeeze of lime :)
Hyssop tea is great for tummy troubles. Hope this helps!