Dehydrating Mushrooms For Long Term Storage

in #life3 years ago

C53523C8-3061-4B4C-97F0-78B098A6F708.jpeg
I’ve been away from Hive for a bit upping my preps, tending to my fall garden and hens as well as starting a little side business that is dear to my heart. During the start of my the pandemic my business was ordered to be shut down and being in Southern California I have not been able to re-open safely. Yesterday we were moved up to the “purple tier” Which is one notch below mandatory stay at home orders that seem to probably be put into action in a week or two. With that said, the probability of my spa reopening completely is very slim. With this in mind I enrolled myself back in school as I have mentioned before and to be honest with you I’m not liking one bit as I don’t see myself doing that long term. It’s not in my heart.
This has pushed me harder than ever to revisit one of my biggest passions~ selling vintage and antique goodies!
Once upon a time I had a little antique shop in the east coast. I can honestly say I was the happiest then! Putting vignettes together, arranging window displays and peddling my old treasures was a dream come true! Ornate cabriole legs, porcelain, ormolu and parlor sets were my passion! When we moved back to California I reopened my spa where I enjoyed my profession as a medically trained esthetician, but there was always something missing in my life. Our lives were changed dramatically once Covid hit. I, like many others, had to shut down. Non-essential businesses were the first to go. Although this was scary to me and broke my heart it opened up a little door of opportunity. Knowing I had no choice to start off little I did it anyways and French & Bleu was born!
85F68756-C940-43FF-A8F4-EC8134ABE260.jpeg
It’s just baby steps for now but steps none the less that I hope to turn into a giant leap which includes becoming a physical shop in the future. Till then I will build up my dream!
In between working on my little shop and everything else I have been doing to keep myself busy I have been dehydrating and canning nonstop! I received a large amount of mushrooms the other day and I vacuum sealed a couple of bags to keep in the freezer.
3667467A-7CD5-4065-BBE3-E3C84529B72E.jpeg
Since mushrooms do not preserve well without pressure canning them (I’m only water bath canning now, my pressure canner is long gone) I decided to dehydrate them!
E0E99833-341C-471A-B9E0-0140B1E5AFA1.jpeg
I place them without overlapping on my front loading dehydrator trays and set the temperature to 115 degrees. I let them dehydrate anywhere from 6-8 hours checking every so often to make sure they are completely dry.
Once dry, these tasty little mushrooms can be stored in vacuum sealed Mylar bags or in clean mason jars. They last about 5 years when properly processed and could be rehydrated in sauces and stews! You can also use them dry as is on salads like a crunchy topping!
I know some people marinate them as they would do jerky before dehydrating them! I’ve yet to try that.
It feels good to back to blogging, not only did I miss you all I have so much to catch up on your blogs as well as share with you these coming days.
May you all be in great health and happy!
73DEBBF8-B129-49B7-B45D-6D349D1A22C4.jpeg
Xo,
IMG_1115.JPG
7FD15966-03BB-4564-8F29-74A5A6A84179.jpeg
AD249043-CFA4-4968-B8B9-6BF16B001793.jpeg
BTC
3EnChez6mqJGzsLtFzrXiuAcwy26QcE4YS
3CFF9029-60A3-43BF-A4F7-C5227BA8DFA8.jpeg