You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Still Pissed Off About That Time You Did Something Awesome and Nobody Noticed?

in #life5 years ago

Was just pointed to this by @derangedvisions over on the Creative Coin Discord. What a great idea!!

As musicians our community really struggles with this as it can take weeks or even months to write, record, mix and master one track and as many musicians make music rather than write text I have seen a lot give up here as they cannot keep posting the same tracks again and again.

NOW THERE IS A SOLUTION!

All our musicians store their music on our website and the content is generated from there so I have now made an update to suggest they create a small playlist on Sundays and the tag will be automatically included. Hopefully you should see some posts appear from this Sunday!

Screen Shot 2019-10-04 at 08.50.20.png

I would also like to offer some ATOM tokens for prizes if you would like them? You can find me in our Discord.

Thanks for the opportunity!

Sort:  

It might be a good opportunity for the musicians to not only share their work, but also say something about themselves. People follow other people here, more often than not. Personally, I tend to follow the artist rather than the art alone. I think part of the reason so many struggle is because they don't personalize their posts. They simply share what has been produced, and that's that. Artwork gets lost in a sea of images. Music becomes just another music post. If you look closely at what I've been doing here as a digital artist with an outsider style, you'll notice every post comes equipped with a write up. Most of the time I don't even talk about the art. Seems to be effective and I hope more of these artsy types, no matter what they're producing, eventually catch on.

I agree that it makes a huge difference to personalise the posts. If you are able to offer some insight into who you are as an artist then it makes others more likely to engage with you.

Unfortunately a lot of musicians find this really hard. I am not saying this as an excuse for laziness. If one is adept at writing then it's hard to imagine that others cannot do so but it is a fact that many musicians are very introverted and effectively hide behind the music and really do struggle to expose themselves to the word in any other way.
Maybe that means that they will not be as effective as they could be on the platform but I think it's important that we don't exclude people for that reason.

I agree. It's not easy to lower those walls and step out into the spotlight. That's why so many hit the bottle and other things when it becomes impossible to step into the shadows when needed. I totally get it.

Yes it is a real shame isn't it.

Yeah. I do suggest people at least try though. Posting something the second time, but doing it the same way as the first time, will probably yield the same results, and if those results the first time weren't great, I wouldn't expect much of a difference the second time, and that artist or writer, whatever, isn't taking advantage of the opportunity a second chance gives them.

Yep I agree. I keep putting suggestions in our Discord so hopefully some will at least try.