You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @Herpetologyguy, where have you been?!

in #life6 years ago

Cool. As you can see in the photo, they're fairly long and narrow-bodied. I'd say they were probably 6' long or more. And the location is northern Florida, if any of this helps.

There are a lot of different corn and rat snakes around there that I've seen over the years, but I had not seen ones this size or with that particular color scheme. They're usually a red and tan pattern or just a plain black. Then we have the pygmy rattlers and full-size ones, and the moccasins, of course. These guys were just chilling near the top of the 25-30' dunes on the beach.

There was also a large turtle about 20 feet away from them digging a hole in the sand, then he buried himself for a nap, I suppose. He was tossing sand everywhere while I was trying to focus in on the snakes. Lots of activity out there this afternoon/evening.

Anyway...congratulations on the tour guide job. Sounds like a lot of fun. And welcome back!

Sort:  

Hrmmm that size and shape makes me think some sort of racer then. Whatever it is, its head is really ornate!

Did you happen to get a picture of the turtle?

No, the turtle was a little farther away and I was more intrigued by the snakes. But it was a really dark color, shell and all. Maybe about two feet long. Pretty roundish body and a thick, shorter head. Digging like crazy though. He was throwing that sand pretty high and far. My wife may have gotten a shot of him. I’ll see if I can get it on here tonight.

[EDIT] - Sorry...she didn’t get a picture either.

That's okay! It probably wasn't, but I just have to ask since it kinda fits your description...it didn't look like this did it?

You think maybe a kind of Coachwhip? That would be my guess.