Chronicles of Alan; Lucas 4

in #life7 years ago (edited)

GSM Dart.

Just to start with , South Africa built a very successful Sports Racing ( and Road car) in the 1960's

I remember seeing them at Kyalami , Ford Based, Fibreglass bodies

Why I am putting this in here , someone brought one into Lucas , for Roy to look at the Carbs, had a 1640 Ford engine with twin 45 DCOE Sidedraught Webers on. did not hang about!

My Dad had a Friend called Bill Jennings, Bought a Porsche Carrera pranged, and fitted the Motor in the Front of a Dart!

They banned him from Sports Car Racing for a while , because it was so quick!

I suppose the title is Lucas?, The One Electronics Guy had resigned , the other Guy they asked to leave, so here I was with a huge pile of setups and repairs to do. I contacted , Peter , a Young Guy who worked with me at the Post Office got him in at Lucas, taught him to Fix Battery Chargers, and between us we finally got the huge Backlog down to a reasonable amount.

Easter Weekend was coming up and I wanted to arrange to Leave early on Thursday to avoid the Heavy traffic that takes place
every Easter to Durban, arranged this with my Boss. Big But here:-https://steemit.com/life/@awgbibb/chronicles-of-alan-lucas-3

Remember towards the end of this Post ( 3) I had showed up Brian on picking up something heavier ?

Two Days before the Easter Weekend they put Brian in charge of Me!

One of the reasons to leave early , We had the Fuel restrictions at this time ( 1980) Fuel Stations close at 1800 Hours , Not open Weekends, open at 0600 in the Morning!

223.jpg

Chris and Wayne on the Kawasaki

225.jpg

Wayne and Shakira with Dad.

Sorry about the Quality of these Photos.

So Wayne ( 7 years old) is going with Dad to Durban ( very excited)

I get to Lucas with Wayne and Backpack go to Brian's Office, tell him, " Just as a Courtesy , I'm letting you know that I have arranged to leave at lunchtime to go to Durban"

"Not so fast " he says," I must first come inspect, where you are with your repairs?"

I am fuming ! I have mentioned to you how arrogant I used to be?

Anyhow Brian comes upstairs , says " Where is that Backlog of work you had here " , show him what is left. " I'm impressed "
he says, "Safe trip , see you Tuesday ". Totally unexpected, perhaps he does not hold a grudge like me?

So Peter P and his Missus Gayle meet us at Lucas on his Guzzi , and off we go , Wayne so excited , his first trip alone with Dad , My Mini Me!

I will write another post as a Sub for this weekend, otherwise it will get really long.

Hope you enjoy these tales from my somewhat adventurous life ?

Sort:  

Love motorcycles. Great ride. felt like i'm riding it. Love the sounds. Looks like a lot of fun.

It is, but the road can be hard, Thanks.

Your welcome. Stay in touch. Will follow and look out for you.

Please don't ever stop sharing these tales of adventure! :D

You've owned and driven more motorcycles than I'll ever dream of having... I enjoy hearing about them. ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thank You, My friend, though, what is wrong with dreaming?

Nothing at all; I do it all the time! :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Anne.Ray24236 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Appreciated.

Looks intimidating! Thanks.

Oh yes we do! Speed, Cars and dogs :-) We love it.

Great , appreciate you. Thanks.

You are a true potter my friend @awgbibb
I enjoy your tales all the time and waiting for the next one.

Thank You so Much My Friend, always appreciate your Visits.

Haha, Brian must not have known how good you were with repairs. Nice to hear you could get away for a weekend.

That Dart looks fun to drive with no canopy and sitting down inside the chassis.

Thank You , you could get quite an unusual Hardtop for it.

That would be a custom job.

Woww amazing video, I love racing

Me too, Thanks.

Hy@awgbb Like your Post Voted
wish you the same @funnystuff
"Someday I will give back what you have given me. Thank You."

Thank You.

Soo creative and talented, nice post and videos, I always enjoy your post.

Thank You, so much, you flatter me!

No it the truth

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment

Good idea, have not had breakfast yet.

That dart is sweet. Especially in the corners.

That is what they were known for, Thank you.

A wonderful publication Greetings to you I wish you a beautiful day

Thank you, and to you!

Omg. It's so fast!

Yes they are, Thank You.

I enjoyed your blog. The motorcycle is dope.

Sure is, Thanks.

Wonderful have a nice day

Thank you very much.

A good article man. I like the Kawasaki bike though, I like bikes that to old ones.
upvoted.

Glad you enjoyed it. Thank You.

Great old photographs. Looks like you had a lot of fun!

Sure Did , Thanks.

Interesting post, there's always love for classics, awesome photos thanks for sharing :) #keepsteemin

Thank You, appreciated

Awesome
thank you for sharing
upvote

My Pleasure, Thanks.

Once your post I really like it, I hope you succeed always in steemit and get persapaianya as you hope you are extraordinary in choosing for your post, I sanga hope to you to want to help in steemit because during this time I work alone, I am very Thank you, you are incredible and very appreciate the achievement is in steemit because all this can not be separated from your hard work during this time, semonga your success is always in steemit .....

Thank you, for your comment and visit.

wonderful @awgbibb

Thank You.

you are welcome bro

@awgbibb,
That's great! I am really impressed! It's really hard to find something classic in these days, but you are filling that gap! Really appreciate your work friend! Thanks for sharing your experiences, otherwise we really don't know about them!

Cheers and looking for the next post~

Appreciate your Comment, Glad you enjoyed it,Thank You.

OMG, @awgbibb - watched that vid - what side of the road do you drive on? ha ha... those intersections are crazy. If you came to Ontario you'd be so bored - our freeways (400 series highways) are laid out straight as an arrow for as far as the eye can see. You'd fall asleep and be picking asphalt out of your butt for years LOL!!

We drive on the left , but then we have a lot of privately owned Taxi's ( not sure which side of the road they drive on?) Thank You , My Friend.

ha ha ....same here :)

i defenitly enjoying them!

Appreciate it, Thanks.

your video reminded me of road rash game

Not Familiar ( maybe me being too old?) Thank You.

It looks classic but the passion by drive is there, interesting and entertaining post

Thank You , so much, appreciated.

You're welcome. Great content

Jeez this looks so intense and exciting.
The cars and the bike at the end are going so fast I don't think I'd be able to cope haha.
I'm glad that Wayne was excited and it sounded like you had a great time @awgbibb
Those old photographs look great, everyone seemed like they were having so much fun back then.

Thank You , Life was probably more exciting , and no TV's and Cell Phones to take over the social side!

Looking cool ! adventurous life indeed.

Thank You, I think when I tell people some of the things I have done, they assume I am lying?

Nah ain't nobody assuming that :P

This looks awesome I would love to drive a racing car or a sports car can imagine it would be so much adrenaline!!! Nice little story too thanks for sharing :)

It is a lot of fun, My Son , Wayne has a Lotus Seven standing at this House, I take it for a run every now and then, it is ridiculously powerful! Thank You.

I remember the Moriwaki Mods you could get, seriously Quick. Nice Pic, Thanks

Those old photos are so cool.

Thank you.

Oh wow how old are those pictures..?
I like your article
Keep it up

About 1978 as I recall? Thank You.

Your adventurous looks cool. These are nice memories that you will never forget. Keep it well in a nice place those pictures.

Thank You, Packed away in a Storage Bin

Great

A muscle is like a car. If you want it to run well early in the morning, you have to warm it up.
Thanks for sharing a great post , love it 😍

Thank You.

Amazing that was creative indeed

Thank You So Much!.

Nice One, thanks.

I remember when my Mini-Me was 7. Now he doesnt like to hang with his dad as much. He still does, but its not as "cool".

Growing Up, I suppose? He is 44 now.