Photography changed my life

in #life6 years ago

It was 2003 & I was working as a project manager. (Yeah I know, boring, right?)I wasn’t happy & then one day I saw a picture of the Somerset Levels & thought: I could do that. As soon as I got back to the office I called a wedding photographer & assisted her & 6 months later I opened my first studio.

I had never been a photography enthusiast – I had an eye – my holiday pics were always well composed – but I never had a great love for it. And then something clicked. I taught myself about the principles of light & I started to see the world differently. I would notice the way the sun hit the trees, the contrast between light & shadow, I started to notice the way that people’s feelings affected their expression.

And everything became a potential photo; after 14 years that’s not changed. Every day I take a photo from my window of the same view, because every day it’s a little different – the way the sun dances on the water, the way the cliffs are some days lit and others in shadow.

Wherever I go I try to take photos on my amazing phone (Huawei P20) & share them. Photography is my happy place. It has transformed my world & taking it on as a business has not changed that. I’m very lucky.

This is the view from Golden Cap in Dorset.IMG_20180722_183220-01.jpeg

How do you make sure you love what you do?

Sort:  

I use a canon is that a good camera to use?

It depends on the model. I am sure I would get scoffed at for using a phone camera. But I don't care. I just love not having a big camera around my neck. It should be about the experience not the equipment.

Wow, truly amazing to hear about people that continue to do what they love.

Thanks @nordal. I feel very lucky

Congratulations @b-you-photo! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!