!!!First Day Of Not Smoking!!!

in #life7 years ago

Hey Steemians
Today is the day i decided to give up smoking and what a day its been! Iv'e had the shittiest day at work in a long time, not going into detail about it as it angers me lol anyway i kept saying to myself if i can get through today of all days without touching even 1 i can do any day. Iv'e smoked since i was 16 years old which is 12 years and have tried to quit maybe 3 or 4 times now for as long as 9 weeks and have been successful upto the point of going out and drinking socially with friends, See most of my friends smoke and after a few pints i have let my guard down and said i will have 1 whilst i'm out drinking (which is a bad idea) so from today i wont be going out partying or drinking until i know i have kicked this dirty habit.

For me its always the first week that's the hardest to get through so all i have to do is keep telling myself over and over again "its only a week" "its only a week". Which to be fair isn't a long time. It has taken a week for me to get my first author rewards which has come around quite fast so a week should be a breeze, after 1 week i'm still not out of the woods with it i know but that is my goal to get to before i set another.

I would like to ask anyone who is on a similar journey, either quitting smoking or anything else that they mite want to stop doing to join me in this quest to a better, healthier life, and if there are smokers out there who think that a day without a smoke cant be done then i have news for you! It can be done and i'm living proof, with a bit of will power and a strong mindset you can do it day by day. That is all i'm doing - day by day.

I will be posting about this for the foreseeable future to update on how its going.
Anyone in a similar situation please follow me and we CAN do this together!

Have an amazing day guys

AD

Sort:  

as a 1y+ quitter, may I point your attention to THIS. Its not a ploy to get votes (already to old) but I genuinly think you should be aware of the things they don't tell you.

Aal the luck in kicking the habbit. Be sure to wire the money not spent on smoking to a savings account. You'll thank me later.

Thanks man will have a look and congratz on your 1y+ thats awesome =D

it sure is. Still miss the 'moments'on occasion, but never the smoking itself. Just steel yourself for ex- favourite moments to smoke, avoid them at first.

Good luck on your journey @badadd7 - I hope you manage to quit. My dad quit smoking cold turkey from one day to another after about 30 years of smoking. He felt that for him, quitting like that was the best choice and only option really rather than doing it gradually and with patches etc. They say it takes 21 days to create a new habit. Think one day at a time and before you know it it's a month gone! Good luck!

Thanks so much it really means a lot for people to actually take time out of their day and post things like this. =D

You can do it !! you'll feel a lot healthier in no time !

Thank you =D so far so good.