You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NEW YEAR, NEW RESOLUTIONS. DO THEY WORK?

in #life5 years ago

I myself do not really believe in New Years resolutions, I always try to make the upcoming year a better year than the previous year. I grew so weary of people at work asking me what my new years resolution was that I actually finally made one while working and it was a simple one to keep. Of course no one thought that I would really keep it, but for two years in a row I kept it. No one else at work had kept any of their "resolutions". They were more of like you said wishes and dreams on their part.

Going into the third year of their constant triad of new years resolutions and pointing out to them their failures to keep their own I made two resolutions one so that I would never have to make another work new years resolution again, and that was easy to keep, one of the two was not to make any more new years resolutions at work. I stuck with that until I retired, so for 5 years no work new years resolutions.

I think people do not take new years resolutions serious, it is simply a herd mentality, everyone else is making them maybe I should too thing.

Sort:  

I would like to thank you @bashadow for your comment. Appreciate it a lot.

And I'm sorry for such a late reply. Just noticed that I've missed your comment somehow.

ps.
I was also wondering how do you handle stress and frustration once you realize that you cannot reach your goals and targets?

Yours
Piotr

If you do not set unrealistic goals and targets, they can almost always be achieved. No stress that way, but if your goal or target is not reached, and it was a reasonable goal, then you look at why, what caused the failure, was it internal or external or something you had no control over. Not reaching a goal or a target should not be a stressful thing, it should be a learning thing. I do not understand why people stress over not reaching a goal or target, if a person is stressing out over not reaching a goal perhaps it is because they can not look objectively anymore as to why they set the goal in the first place.

So I do not stress over missing a goal or a target, just how I am I guess.

Thank you for your kind comment @bashadow and for being so responsive.

I really appreciate it a lot.
Yours, Piotr