My Grandma wants me to marry PABLO!

in #life7 years ago
My paternal grandmother was a girl from '26, so a practical gal, with that old fashion and fast brain sinking knowledge. One day she said to me, "Study little, get married young, with a rich man, even if not so good looking."

My idea of love story will come closer to models such as Andrej Bolkonskij and Nataša Rostova of War and Peace, or Mr and Mrs Potato of Toy Story, but I’ve always snobed the advice of my grandma and arrived at mt 3rd decade I started to make my reflections, and here's what I realized after a “NARCOS” TV series marathon, my grandmother would approve, El Patron: Pablo Emilio Escobar Gaviria (imagine saying that with the American accent).



  1. He isn’t a narcos, but a young entrepreneur, who understands the chances of developing a Colombian rural habit like chewing coca leaves, has become an exporter of a natural and national product.
    At Christmas lunch, with the reunited family you know exactly what to answer and Grandma will understand his profession, not like those Life coach, PR or Fashion blogger.

  2. You will no longer have to worry about the house's economy. Finally, when shopping on Ebay you don’t have to pay attention on reaching the free shipping limit.

  3. He is different from his business: he begins with a merchandise of tombstones, cigarette smuggling, fake lottery tickets and taxi service. You cannot say that he isn’t working hard.

  4. He is a philanthropist, dreamer and ambitious: a man caring for the social issues of his city. He builds hospitals, whole barrios, wants to become Colombia's president to protect (himself) from injustice ... mmh ... I don’t know where I've heard it before.

  5. He has a real estate properties, Hacienda Napoles was just one of the many. Real estate investment is what grandmothers has always understood and endorsed, not like banners. "Hey, hi, do you want to know a secret method, how did I make billiards in 3 minutes?"

  6. "Patrón, coma mierda malparido, hijo de puta", I'm essentially learning Spanish. Okay, maybe grandmother would not approve it...but you know, dirty talking in certain circumstances is not unpleasant. Grandma will understand.

  7. He has a moral, religious, somewhat deviant and cowardly dimension - betrays, kills, has delusions of omnipotence, but in short he is a brave man, burns billions to warm his children, heals all material needs.

  8. Money is better than poverty, though only for financial reasons, then some compromise in a couple is necessary, says the same my shrink that I pay 100 Euros per hour.

  9. It's a mix between an hipster and Maradona (with which he seems to have played football in the Catedral): Tom Selleck mustaches, swinging shirts, sweatshirts Wes Anderson style and Lotto at his feet, but at least he doesn’t make your ears blead with his pseudo-artistic intellectual culture.

At the end, honestly, I started looking at "Narcos" just because Wagner Moura's voice increased my basal temperature.