12 Little Ways to Make the World a Better Place - Be Kind!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I thought I'd be in a Steemit hiatus for a whole week but my fingers led me to this topic, it was really not my intention to write about this but my mind just started to flow with ideas. (Thank you brain!)

I must admit that I've been grumpy, short-tempered, cranky (or whatever you might want to call it) these past few days without any reason at all. Maybe its the workplace stress, I really don't know.

This post is intended to scratch my own itch because I want to go back to my usual jolly and playful self as soon as possible. And I hope someone (even just one person) will find these tips useful too.

be kind image.JPG

I've turned to everybody's best friend -- the internet for some tips on how to become kinder and these are the ones that made sense to me. So I'll try to do all these this week and post an update on how it went.

  1. Smile more. Smile at strangers. Seems like a pretty simple advice but we always forget about this. It's the cheapest and easiest way to make someone's day.

  2. Plant a tree or flowers in a neglected area in your neighborhood. I've never thought about this before, I always promise myself that I will plant more trees in our backyard but never have I thought of planting a tree or flower in someone else's neglected backyard.

  3. Write Post-It notes with encouraging messages and leave them in library books. So this one is a little bit old school because admittedly who else goes to the library these days? But this can be done in bookstores perhaps? Or just any place where somebody can read your Post-It note.

  4. Pay for the person behind you in line. I'm sure the person behind you will pay for the person behind him/her as well.

  5. Pick up litter you see thrown about even if its not yours. Mother Nature needs our act of kindness too. :)

  6. Talk to a shy person.I'm a shy person myself so this will help me overcome my shyness as well. Talk about hitting two birds with one stone.

  7. Put an act of kindness in your calendar. Yup, this activity needs to be in my calendar every month.

  8. Give away the books you’ve read. This will be a little difficult for me but I think this makes sense because the books are just sitting in my room anyway. I just need to choose someone who really deserves a good book.

  9. Call your parents. Every day. Another difficult task. I know what you're thinking and I feel so guilty for not doing this already. But that's what this exercise is all about.

  10. Treat your team to coffee in the morning. Or snacks, I think my team will prefer snacks over coffee.

  11. Be kind to yourself. Last on the list but most important. :)

bekind.JPG

I recommend everyone who's reading this to try these too. I would love to hear how you felt after doing these. Shall we start killing 'em the with kindness?

Sources:

http://www.6seconds.org/2013/02/27/kindness-and-loving-75-ways/
http://www.virtuesforlife.com/100-ways-to-be-kinder/
https://www.doyouyoga.com/25-ways-to-be-kind-88843/
http://www.mydomaine.com/how-to-be-kind

Sort:  

Random acts of kindness are the best! I love seeing the unexpected.

I once followed an elderly man picking up rubbish in the streets. He was picking up every single piece of rubbish he could find for over a mile long walk. Off the beaten path and into bushes he went, collecting cans and food wrappers blown downwind from the local Mcdonalds.

My intention was not to follow him, although I was interested to see him work away, making our streets much cleaner.

Somewhere along our journeys our paths divided and I lost sight of him and the good deed he was doing.

I went about my business and fortunately our paths crossed again.

It was in my local KFC I saw this very man standing in queue, and I had to ask him about his good deed.

his story was a great story! He had been cleaning up our streets for over 10 years, every day, and as a reward to himself once a week he would buy himself a KFC.

I was lucky to encounter him doing his good deeds on the day he was due to reward himself with a tasty KFC.

I was touched by his story and felt I would love to reward him myself and paid for his KFC that day.

We sat and talked about the history of our town whilst enjoying a tasty chicken burger.

Although I don't venture to that area of town much, I still see him from time to time and it brings a warmness to my heart that people are persistent in their pursuit to make the world a better place.

I always love to hear stories like this because it reminds me that I too can make the world a better place in my own little way. You both have been blessed to meet each other. Thanks for sharing this wonderful experience @zebbad. :)

Excellent content mutual subscription?

This post received a 4.4% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @beng05! For more information, click here!

Be honest, with the others and with yourself, and everything else will come as a consequence.

Thanks for the tip @discernente. :)

The last one really is the most important! It's pretty much impossible to be genuinely nice to others if you aren't kind to yourself. Great list :)

Agreed @cobloc, you can't give what you don't have. right? :)

Wow these are all act of kindness... and a nice way to start each day...

the little things can make you simply happy <3 ^_^ spread love and kindness the world could be a better place

Agree @fernwehninja! You're the best example for this. :)

thank you @beng05 , bless you more

Yea.... I agree! :)

Been cranky as well due to work stress.hope you are better @beng05

Pay for the person behind you in line--check what items they have first haha.don't break the bank though.

Treat your team to coffee in the morning- there's 20 of us...what to do.haha.

1 and 6 are my favorite on the list. I try by all means to exercise it everyday, being kind and loving people goes a very long way and doing it for no reason goes an even longer way, there has been times where i have been depressed and a stranger just smiles and you could see the love within they smile and they don't even know what your'e going through but that smile just heals you completely... i also believe that you live longer if youre naturally a happy loving person

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by WanderGirl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I am kindly following. Will be glad if u follow me too.