Trouble with the Dish Washer.

in #life6 years ago

It seems like something will always break at the worst possible time, well good news, mine was just clogged. My dishwasher, the day before our scheduled induction decided to stop working. It just wouldn't drain anymore. So I looked up all the culprits, to clogged filters, burned out motors, and clogged motors. None of the obvious things, so it was to taking it apart. The last time I took something apart I sent it to the manufacturer in pieces. 20180310_172048.jpg

Took a picture for a reference, and then went to town.
20180310_173908.jpg

They are surprisingly simply, but there are a lot of seals and such. I took it all apart only to find a Onion skin clogging the filter. because of it being clear I never saw it. So then I had to put it all back together. I wasn't sure about a couple of parts, so I replaced them with a new hose clamp. Then it was to the test stage. 20180311_111134.jpg
I hooked it up outside and let it run a load of dishes. Wife was saying if we put it out front, that it would decrease our neighborhoods value. All together it worked, and now I am putting it back in. Double check the easy fixes first.

Sort:  

I try to play ignorant and pretend that I know nothing about fixing things when the dishwasher goes down, but she sees right through it. :(

Hard lesson, but good advice. I've done dumber things when it comes to home improvement. Glad you got it working again.

P.S. Make sure the thing is plugged in also.

Ya my wife was mad the whole time, and I think everyone has done the "why won't it work, o its not plugged in" a few times

that is always nice to fix something just by finding the simple problem. I put in a new garbage disposal last year and hooked up everything and plumbed the dishwasher hose into it like it was before. Garbage disposal worked like a dream. ran the dishwaser a while later and it wouldn't drain. come to find out there is a plug about an inch into the neck you have to knock out of the new garbage disposal so that the dishwasher can drain. i felt like an idiot.

Hey don't get to down on yourself, it is one of the most overlooked things. I have put in thousands, and get so busy with the phone sometimes, and forget it myself. But it is like the first thing on the instructions. HAHA

You seem like a handyman, @bigram13!
Looks like you're the Mario of the house haha.
Btw, something like this post would make a cool entry to the Comedy Open Mic contest.
So do check it out. :)
(epic prizes in store!)

Okay, I will, and thanks for the nice comments.

Nice, thank you! And you're welcome. :)

dishwasher is a must, but we don't have it hehe. You are indeed FIY (fixed it yourseld) man. your wife should be proud.

Vote me please

downvote?

"Don't mind if I do!"

introduce my name @ rinosari2 comes from Indonesia ... indeed sometimes things can be troublesome all, because clogged onion skin should make all bother.
I am at home washing dishes manually by hand so will not menggalami thing like you ... thank you .

I can’t believe you had this happen right now as you are having a new baby. I thought our problem at Christmas was bad. The week before Christmas we had the exact same thing happen. Actually, both our dishwasher and our stove died in the same weekend. The weekend before we hosted 12 family members for Christmas. I watched tons of videos on fixing a pump/motor and spent almost 2 days tinkering with the machine. I couldn’t fix it. Luckily we were able to buy new machines and have them delivered on Dec 23rd. Was a stressful time. Glad it worked out for you.

Dlive-broadcast
Your post all so good.i like it@bigram13DQmYfKYGX2M8Qc8nNUi6TqUzHKoeLmafZ6PVBMjt7wjXe5R.gif

Finally you could remand your dish washers. So i can say it's really outstanding job....

Thank you for [email protected] the day gets closer I have wondered if we would hear from you...... and here you are with a contest no less. ^__^

I am thinking of your good lady every day.

Here is wishing you two all the best.

Cheers.

NB Is that the cutest photograph of a baby or what? Good selection.

Nice you are a bot that copied bleujay's comment.