Weekend Treadmill Feels

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Treadmill Runs Continued

The weather this weekend unfortunately stayed pretty chilly and rainy so I opted for two more treadmill runs. I still struggle a bit to not get bored on the treadmill, but was happy I could maintain an average speed of ~7.5mi/hour = 8 min/mile.

modern-running-background_1017-7491 - Copy.jpg

Not the fastest times but was nice to see I'm getting closer to my peak running shape from last summer (which also wasn't that fast to begin with haha)!

Snapshots of the summaries below:

IMG_6030.JPG

IMG_6044.JPG

(Both runs I had a ~1 minute warm up and ~1-2 minute cooldown with some variations in speed in between so the numbers may look a bit weird at first glance! Admittedly no variation in incline though.)

Separately, have any folks tried Apptiv or other audio trainers? I think I may be forced to do a few more treadmill runs so hoping to find a way to keep me engaged!

Thanks for reading! Please feel free to leave any comments, advice, questions, or thoughts below!

Sort:  

Keep it up man! I've been trying to get back into the gym consistently, but it's been tough. I hear if you do something consistently for 2 weeks it becomes a habit.

Thanks dude! Hadn't heard that 2 week thing but will really give it a try and keep you posted!

Nice work man, I hate running on treadmills so opt for other indoor activities. Plus no access to one right now. I really want a rowing machine!

Thanks! Rowing machine are a beast of a workout - they usually wear me down pretty quickly and my form is probably off too haha. If you haven't tried air assault bikes too, 5-10 minutes of HIIT on those and you're wiped too. Kind of huge though so hard to fit in the house

Oh ya, those things are just as brutal, if not more. I always loved rowing sprints. back when I did crossfit the 500m(maybe it was ft..) was my favorite cardio. Looks like there're some knock offs of that air assault for like 400, those good rowers are around 900 I think. Maybe one day, weathers almost nice now...

Are you doing any HIIT cardio on the treadmill? That usually gets me pretty engaged. Not sure if you’re trying to burn fat or what not 🙃

Good call! Just trying to get in better shape haha and building both speed and endurance. Definitely will give it a try soon!

Keep the momentum going my Friend! I'm VERY happy to hear that you are getting a groove going. Once you get back into it. It usually is not that bad. They say that we are creatures of habit. So, I try to stick to the good habits LOL! I have not personally tried Apptiv or other audio trainers. But, a couple of my Friends love them. They say that they most definitely keep them engaged. 8 min/mile is NOT bad at all in my book my Friend! Keep up the nice work! All the best! Positive Energy! Great Karma! Your Friend @extraterrestrial :-)

That's one of the great things about running--it's all relative! What's fast for you might not be fast for someone else, but it doesn't really matter unless you're trying to qualify for the Olympics. ;) Great job continuing to make it work! I can do HIIT or other speed work on the treadmill, but I have a hard time doing steady state on there anymore.

"When you cross the finish line, your life will change forever."
-Unknown

Resteemed by @runningproject

Kind reminder:

Check new nominated Running Authors of the week and vote for yours!

Keep practice and You will reach a better time of running. I think your average speed that You reach is very good.