Willing yourself back onto the treadmill

in #life6 years ago

Treadmill Run Struggles

Hi all,

My work's been crazy lately so I haven't been great about getting consistent runs in. Finally made it back onto a treadmill last night (picture representative of what I wish I could have done).

1_jGZe7mqtuC-_sjwlfS--Cw.png

Not my best run but managed to power through most of it. Rough splits below:
00:00 - 01:30: Warm-up (3.5 mi / h)
01:30 - 18:00: Run (7.5 mi / h)
18:00 - 19:00: Sprint (9.1 mi / h)
19:00 - 21:00: Cool down (3.5 mi / h)

IMG_6014 (1).JPG

Felt myself waning towards the end so turned it into a 1 minute sprint vs. another push for .5 miles. Not the best, but hoping to use this momentum to get back on track! Still got some running goals to meet in 2018!

Thanks for reading! Please feel free to leave any comments, advice, questions, or thoughts below!

Sort:  

First of all, nice work!

Second of all, you won!!!! Nice!

https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@generation.easy/raffle-giveaway-winner

whoa! thanks for the head's up! had my head buried down in work all day and didn't even see this!

No problem, if I had won I would have totally missed it. Finders fee is half, chop it up ;)

Man I know all about work getting in the way of all the thing a person would like to do. It's very frustrating. I spent most of fall 2017 working 60 hour weeks and trying to still run a few days a week and I rarely got in as many miles as I wanted to.

Props to you for still getting in the run, even if it was on a treadmill and not in an ideal setting. It's definitely better to settle than to do nothing at all.

You still have plenty of the year left to achieve your goals so don't let your current work / life balance get you down.

Thanks dude! Definitely struggle to get motivated to hit the treadmill sometimes, especially after long days/weeks of work, but I really do feel better after a run. Hoping the weather will start to break up here soon too, which will make it a bit easier to squeeze in a run pre-work. Appreciate the words of encouragement!

I like your attitude You are ambitious about your running time May your running goals fulfill in this year. Best wishes

Good work on getting a session in. I used to do a lot of running on treadmills but don't know how I did it; I find it so boring when I get on one now!

Thanks! Yeah it's definitely a struggle - a bit easier when I'm frustrated with work and can just zone out haha. I've been thinking of trying Aaptiv or something similar for treadmill runs to see if that helps too

The treadmill is a necessary evil sometimes! Definitely better to get a little something in than totally skipping, so good for you to get it done! I hope you get some good outdoor running weather and time to do it soon.

I'm VERY happy to hear that you are exercising! Very nice run! Keep up the momentum and great work! It definitely pays off! Wishing everyone the VERY best of health and happiness! All the best! Positive Energy! Your Friend @extraterrestrial :)

Run often. Run long. But never outrun your joy of running.
-Julie Isphording

Resteemed by @runningproject

Kind reminder:

Remember to vote your Running Author of the week!

You got a 1.13% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @bigtx31!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.