You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Schools Guns and America and The N.R.A.

in #life6 years ago

It's a complicated matter and one where many people will get very angry about it because they are afraid. I know that I personally am afraid of firearms, but I would have no problem owning my own bow and quiver. I also know that someone doesn't need a gun to harm or kill another being. I would be more afraid of my episodic rage than of someone else having a gun in my house, but it's really subjective.

The argument could be made that more regulation and restriction (which causes more impedement on freedom) would prevent such occurances, but the counter argument would be that people always manage to get illegal arms and if someone else had arms, they would be able to better defend against these psychopaths.

I am on the fence and cannot decide what would be best for a whole nation. I know that in my house, in Canada, we have no firearms, but learning and training to defend one self is important to me. Like I said, I would carry a bow with me to feel safe and draw an arrow on anyone who threatened my safety or hurt someone else around me. I am just more comfortable with that weapon than with another. But a weapon it is.

Sort:  

greats points and I am an N.R.A. member and ave been from the time of getting my junior sportsman's licences as a kid. I believe in in hunting and fishing. I believe in traditional means to feed and defend ones self. I do not think any civilian or retired out or ex military once they are civilians need ar-15 ak-47 and the likes . nor do I think they need to stock pile ammo. There are just far too many come out of service that have different levels of P.S.P.D. and other mental issues. I do not think anyone no matter how old should have free rain even if they do own them. make them have to stay at a shooters club, gun range etc. There is just no need for a 50 caliber anything in yours or mine neighbors bedroom. And far more people need to do as you are saying have a gun safety class. even if you don't own one because your kids or loved ones friends house more times than not does have a gun available. but wonderful points.

Yeah, I totally understand the mental illness issue. I have CPTSD and the times I was scared that I might do something to myself, not because I wanted to die, just because of wanting to self harm, and I am so glad that I never did. I had the means around me to prevent me, but not everyone has a loving family or a safe zone (emotional safe zone) and they can fall down very far with no one to help them. It can be a very dark place. When we are well surrounded, it's still very difficult, but at least we have something that allows us to stay grounded and not lose our minds to weird thoughts and ideas. Instead I took that energy and turned it into something creative. Imagine if that was the way and instead of shooting guns, you turned that mass murderer into something creative and their thoughts and energy changed instantly and then they did not want to hurt others, they just wanted to create instead of destroy. Sadly, there are more psychopaths out there than we know.

I think the term psychopath is not quit fitting ... Look people have bad days , some people just snap. But other have long detailed issues. and here we see more stories where the are allowed guns and ammo no problem as much as they want .. her let's just throw in some c-4. ... j/k but at some point well all have to come to the realization what is or isn't being done by the N.R.A. by congress, by an administration etc. needs to be addressed and changed. There are as many mental issues as there are people. So we have to start making help available and stop de-funding. Then today Trump signed a bill allowing mentally ill people to not be restricted from buying guns. Elderly , Dementia and Alzheimer patients etc. I mean really today he signs it ? while everyone is distracted ... he makes me sick. He is not helping.

No, it doesn't help for sure.

The reason I say psychopath is due to my personal experience with such people. It's true that psychopaths are not psychotic, they will not be overtly in frenzies all the time. They are cold and calculated. They are unafraid to break the law and it's true, they will more likely kill behind the scenes in a more covert fashion. Though there are psychopaths who kill outwardly and overtly to send a message out.

this is very true sadly but we are dealing with so many different issues here not a 1 dimensional problem and a 1 dimensional answer will not solve it