You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How will the overwhelming discovery of extraterrestrial life affect our lives and beliefs?

in #life5 years ago

If aliens did make contact then it would be the end of religion as we know it. Although science and education are going a long way of dispelling these fables that are causing great hardship on the world at the moment. The negative side of this is that the world's social structure would break down causing looting and vigilantism. Even though I find it hard to believe that a man in a white beard is looking upon me, I do belive for a childs upbringing religion has its place. The difference between good and bad is still something to learn and religion places a big part in setting up a childs belief system early in life. Once they get to be a teenager they can make their own mind up. That is what I believe anyway. ET coming down would be devastating for religion across the globe.

Sort:  

Hello @blanchy!

Excellent analysis.

ET coming down would be devastating for religion across the globe.

I guess it's true but I think they're evolving as we speak. They're starting to accept the fact that we're not alone.

I also believe that religion is very important in our lives. I should make a post about that!

I'm glad you took the time to stop by

You do make a point. But if you say religion is only required to inculcate early morals in a child, then it might as well be very useless, especially seeing that the very nature of religion is based on faith instead of proofs. Are kids being manipulated to be good, only for them to make up their minds on whether they want to stay good or not when they hit puberty?

Not to stay good . You can be good and be an atheist. To follow a religion . and to chose to believe in a magician turning one fish into hundreds or a guy that fit two of every species of animal on an ark !

I am a relatively religious person. I believe in God. I like to question all thing I read or heard.

Faith is important. It's what believing that the girl you like the most will really want to go out with you or it's what makes you believe that things will work out no matter how difficult a situation is.

If you don't stand for something, you will fall for anything ...

Are kids being manipulated to be good, only for them to make up their minds on whether they want to stay good or not when they hit puberty?

I don't see it as manipulation, I see it as teaching. After they have grown up, they will decide whether or not they agree with what they have learned. Anyway, the inquisitive nature of the human being always superimposes itself.

Besides, this generation has an advantage that had none in more than 2000 years: the Internet.

Sound like a good material for a future post