Running Journey

in #life4 years ago

Night%20runs%20b34l.jpg
My night route

It was the autumn of last year when I first started distance running. Since then, it has been integrated into my life, and I have been a regular in endurance running. The runs had taught me many things, from close accidents to fulfilling achievements, I have learned why people run and why I am running.

I do not consider myself particularly athletic, nevertheless, I had participated in events involving significant physical and mental endurance in the past. Some notable accomplishments I've done in the recent years will be the McLehose Trail, which is a hundred-kilometer hiking trail running through the inhabited regions of Hong Kong and hikes up the Tibetan mountains. An important lesson learned in these hikes is how your mindset plays a big factor in your stamina.

Your body is much more powerful than what your brain expects. It will tell you to stop way before your body shuts down. Battling your mind is the most challenging part of the runs. I recall forcing myself to raise my legs even when I felt like fainting, surprisingly, I managed to "stumble" another kilometer. It is a tedious process, but once you overcome it, you will start noticing the world around you and enjoy the run. However, do make sure you are properly hydrated as fainting from the lack of water will cause serious health issues.

When I first started running, it took me some effort to do it regularly. The hardest part is not running but starting. Leaving your couch, taking out your running shoes, and beginning the first ten steps, because if you never left your soft couch today, you would not be able to begin anything that day. The first week was filled with motivation, but the next few were difficult. It feels like depression, but things eventually get better after a few months when you start running habitually. There were many times where I wondered why am I doing this to myself when I could be curling somewhere comfy with a bottle of milk tea and a phone in hand. The answer is not why but why not.

Running is something I am doing for myself. I will probably only get one life in this world and look at how time flies. My legs will stop working before I knew it which is why I want to make the most of it while I am still young and kicking. Running is not about health benefits, fame, or money although they are desirable, it is only about you and your runs.

A friendly reminder to stay hydrated <3
A post on life :)

Sort:  

Congratulations @blanktasukaki! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 200 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the last Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!