3 Simple Ways to Make Someone's Day

in #life6 years ago

pexels-photo-374592.jpeg

I was sitting in the drive through line at Starbucks, I was antsy and perusing my phone waiting for my daily jolt of caffeine. As I approached the drive-thru window the barista smiled and said, "the people behind you bought your coffee." Taken back and almost confused, it took me a second to process her statement. A perfect stranger bought my coffee! A gesture that knocked me out of my self-absorbed world and even woke me up more than the coffee would have. I waved at them and we both smiled.

We forget that we have the ability to make a difference in someone else's life through small acts of consideration. Here are three simple ways to make someone's day a little better.

  1. Give someone a compliment. Maybe it's their beautiful smile, uplifting attitude, or loyal friendship. Don't be afraid to tell people about the great attributes they offer the world.

  2. Do an act of service. Mow a neighbors grass, buy someone a coffee, assist a co-worker with a project, carry someone's groceries, or hold the door for someone . People are really taken back by acts of service.

  3. Give someone your attention. Ask a stranger what their reading, take your next break with a new co-worker, or invite an old friend out for coffee or a drink. Making new connections and maintaining existing relationships is always worth while.

Thanks for following @blockbuzz