What are your goals for 2018?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I've always had mixed feelings about New Year's resolutions. I mean, I've had 364 opportunities in the last year to give up (or at least moderately reduce my intake of) nachos so I can comfortably slip into that dream little black dress without having to clench everything, give up on breathing and hope to god the seams won't burst.

imagesource

Being an atheist, there can be a lack of ceremony and ritual in my life and I find there is something somewhat spiritual about plonking yourself down with a cup of lemongrass tea and contemplating the meaning of life, the stars, Donald Trump's gross incompetence, etc. and what lies in store for the year ahead.

So I sat down on the 31st of December 2017 with my cuppa tea, pen and paper in hand, and made my list of goals.

  • Run my second marathon (my first in Melbourne)
  • Hike the Inca Trail (bucket list item)
  • Obtain my Safe Working at Heights Certification (not for shits and giggles but because I am a volunteer for the state emergency service)
  • Learn how to make really amazing cocktails (my Moscow Mule went down a treat at the family Christmas. Perhaps a bit too well)
  • Find a local grassroots charity to support
  • Improve my leadership skills ...this one is still a bit nebulous for me so I'd welcome your thoughts

imagesource

Well that's me done, I will post on my progress and hope there will be some wins along the way - so what are your goals/resolutions/I-don't-care-about-all-that-stuff for 2018? Whatever it is, I hope it is a happy and healthy year for you all.

Be the change that you wish to see in the world - Gandhi

image

Sort:  

Lovely post wife. :)

My goal for 2018 is to eat more nachos. :P

Hello bluebellpossum!

We have found your post and the @SteemEngineTeam wants you aboard!

We are the fastest growing content, vote and follower sharing community on Steem. Please see our introduction post for details on how to join and start earning more votes!