You need to know what counts and what doesn't.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

You need to know what counts and what doesn't.

Being alive counts. Being who you are right now at this very moment counts. Being a nice person that is considerate of others counts.

Making it through each and every day without insulting or seriously injuring anyone counts.

What doesn't count is having the latest and greatest piece of clothing, gadget or technology.

I have just lost about 30% of the people reading this due to the fact that they are primarily here for quick cash and riding the crypto wave.

But that is ok. I have always found it better to have far fewer followers as long as they are far more engaged.

I believe that going for a small devoted like minded group and not the masses is the key to great conversations and true sharing of fantastic content.

Sorry if I have offended you but its true. I am not against sharing far from it. I love jumping on new platforms as they pop up but a real problem that can come out of sharing with a monetary value is spam.

While we all probably have a range of different social networks on the go @Steemit offers the opportunity to have a small and highly engaged group of like-minded individuals together in the one place.

None of this is new information but I just wanted to say it.

I guess while all this new technology is super exciting the thing we need to focus on is our thoughts and our ideas, our communities and our presence.

But the point I am trying to make is that we should not rely on the technology too much, we should use the tools to complete tasks not as precious objects with sentimental value.

The community is the value. Not the tech.

While they may seem like status symbols or badges of honor for you to hold over anyone else, what is far more valuable is what you have to say.

Simply tools.

Working in a job you love counts. Creating compelling work counts. Online shopping on your iPhone because your bored doesn't.

I am not try to stop you from shopping. What I am trying to do is get you to think about weather what you are doing is counting or not?

Being tangible or not.

Being real or not.

I want you to think does this have true value?

I am not saying that I want you to quit your day job and run off to some strange country to save the (insert cause here).

Why?

Because you do not need to do that to make a difference with your life.

I want you to focus on what really is important to you in YOUR life and to continue to make changes to ensure that you are happy doing what you are doing and that you are happy with what you are dedicating your life to.

Let me just say at this stage that I am not much of a planner and that I am not implying you plan the rest of your life out down to Wednesdays socks.

It just means that I want you to know roughly where you want to go.

Remember awake and aware?

There are things in this life that count and there are a lot of things that do not. It should take you to much consideration to figure out which do and which do not.

Sure there is the trivial stuff that is not a a army that can be fun and occupy us for a while but don't make the mistake of thinking this is what is really important.

Spending time with friends and family is important.

Watching the latest episode of some TV show is not.

Not being in debt is important.

The type of vacuum you own is not.

Treating others with the honor and respect they deserve is important.

The latest piece of designer clothing is not.

You get the idea.

Thanks about what really matters to you.

What really counts.

And do more of it.

What really counts to you? Feel free to continue the discussion below.!

Sort:  

Does an upvote count?
Yeah, for me it counts that I'm breathing.
I appreciate living in a warless but not violentless part of the planet.
For me it counts that I can feel my heart and the love that is flowing thru.
Thanks for the article

Upvoted

Well said man!

I have to say I initially got onto steemit to make a quick buck - and now I'm starting to really appreciate the effort people are putting into making super quality content like this.

Thanks for sharing!

Thank you for your good post @blyeth !

What counts for me is:
-Love
-Respect
-Health
-Friendship
-Nature
-Truth
-Compassion
-Humor
-My pets :)
-Critical thinking
-Helping each other
-Listening
-Freedom
-Healthy Food
-Good Sleep

Anything Material is NOT important.
It is nice to have certain things but they are not important.

I couldn't agree more. It is so important to remain present. It can be so easy to be sucked in to the destructive world of consumerism.
We are enslaved to money and the pursuit of this often leads to unhappiness.
When we free ourselves from this mindset is when the magic happens 😊❤

I agree with this - we tend to forget this. Good piece

Thank you for this post. It makes me wonder if everything I do these couple of days really counts.

Wish more people put more thought into their own lives like this. So many people out of stress just react instead of move ahead with purpose. Good job @blyeth

This post has been resteemed by @minnowsupport courtesy of @creativesoul from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Wow, this is the best post I have read yet! I thoroughly enjoyed it, you're a very wise and compassionate person! Thank you!

Lasting value, vs latest trends... gadgets vs. classics.

What counts? Does it add something of value that will be here for longer than the next hour while we get a momentary high from it?

Good art, for example, matters and counts.

"A craftsman is only as good as his tools" is a common truism. This mode of communication we engage with is what enables the community to exist at all.

So, I think the tech DOES count- but what we do with it and HOW we do that are far more important. Are we pushing positive energy into this community with all our strength and talent?

@tvulgaris for sure the tech counts thats why we are here. But what counts way more is our conversatio right now. There is so much positive energy here I am bursting.

Not being in debt is important ---> true dat!

Good mindset you have.
But I can't fully agree. Everyone is different, so what matters differs from person to person. But I'll grant that what you're arguing for is indeed generally more meaningful.
I hope you reach that meaning you wish to achieve. Good luck!

@sebi99p for me the meaning is in the conversation. You being here goes a long way to achieve what I came to do which is to help foster the conversation. Thank you for being a part of it that conversation. I think i love the tech the most but I want to be grounded in the humanity of it as well.

Everyone expects what he/she expects. I for one am here for all these reasons: to find like-minded people, learn about the tech, and if I can make some money doing that, well, I won't say no to that :D . So I'm glad I can help!

What really counts for me is your well written post which spins already my mind thinking of what counts for me 😉

Followed, upvoted and resteemed 😊

Keep up such good posts!

Greetings from
Djangos story @juicypop

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 24. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $13.57 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 24 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

We're all in this together and what counts for each of us is somewhat individual, but there is so much we agree on!

Thanks for summing it all up so nicely!