Remembering the Earthquake that shook Nepal

in #life6 years ago

25th April 2015, 11:56 AM Nepal Standard time, my father was lying down on the bed in the living room, while my mom and me were discussing about some email that she had forwarded on my email id. Suddenly my mom yelled that the earth is shaking , which made my dad and me realize it as well. The next step was my mom running to get out of the house followed by me and then my dad. I was so taken back by what was happening around me that I did not stop running even after reaching the main door. Upon reaching the main door I looked back to check on my parents and when I dint see them I realized that they had chosen to stay in the garden. My dad had gotten bruises on his leg while he was running out of the house. The earthquake of magnitude 7.8 lasted for minute or so we thought but that was the minute seemed like hours to us.

For the next 5 days we slept , cooked , ate and lived in the garden area , of our home . The entire colony came together to keep each others spirits alive. That was the only time I saw many of my neighbours, few of whom I hadn't even seen before. Sometimes we would experience a after quake early in the morning sometimes at night. Each time the earth shook , our hearts would race as to what was coming next.

I was so shaken by the natural disaster that I dint have the courage to do anything. However there were people who were helping those in needs at the time of need. One of my neighbour was studying to be a doctor .He and his fellow students had formed a group and decided to help people in the remote villages in Nepal. They collected clothes, food items and other daily items. All of us contributed in some way or other.

More than 8000 people died and 21,000 got injured. Centuries old building including many UNESCO world heritage sites were completely or partially destroyed. People lost their homes and had to live in make shift tents for days . Some lost their loved ones .

Today is the 3rd anniversary of the devastating earthquake. Lets all give a moment for all those you lost their lives and give a clap to those who with their determination and courage have rebuild a life for themselves. Time passes by but there are few memories which never fades away.I do not have any self clicked pictures from the days as it wasn't something to be captured with all the tragedy around.

Cheers and have a good day!!!