Perfect Balance

in #life8 years ago

enter image description here

I was at a dinner party once. Many years ago. I met some very interesting people that evening. There was a young man who claimed he was a tightrope walker in a circus. I didn’t know whether to believe him or not at first though he did seem to have the right build for it.

One of the ladies present told him how much she admired the skill of being able to walk confidently from one end of a tightrope to the other high above the circus ring. “You must have perfect balance,” she said.

“Oh no,” the tightrope walker replied. “Every time I lift my foot to move it forward along the wire I am, in that moment, completely out of balance. My progress is, in fact, dependent entirely upon my ability to continuously lose my balance and to regain it.”

Written with StackEdit.

Sort:  

Very nice philosophy based story.