"IT'S ALL MAGIC"

in #life6 years ago

“GRAMPY…IT’S ALL MAGIC”


Is it all magic?

This is the way my 4 year old grandson sees life after returning home from a few days in Disney World…Wouldn't it be wonderful if it was all magic?

Meanwhile…his 14 year old brother, who is afflicted with autism….was committed a week later to a hospital ward in hopes of helping him find better ways to cope in a world that is anything but magic to him…A brilliant mind and a childlike soul riddled with anxiety based on his life perception.

So his parents do their best to cope with this scary and painful reality. My wife..."grammy"... is devastated and angry at life. Like all loving relatives…she wants to fix it…she wants to be a magician and wave the magic wand…

I understand completely how she feels….heck…I’ve spent the majority of my life jumping in to situations in order to “save the day”…I was determined not to let those I love ever feel alone with no one there to back them…I know what that pain feels like…I was determined not to let it happen to others…

Unfortunately, while it may have magical moments…life isn’t magic...I don’t have a magic wand. “Abracadabra” only works on the stage….it doesn’t work in real life. But…it doesn’t mean I can’t hope…love…listen…be available and lean on the things that I have found helpful to find faith in difficult times….and truth be told…just being blessed with a chance to hold my 14 year old grandson's hand when we visit or see the beam of excitement the 4 year old exhibits when I’m in sight…it lets me know… ”It is all magic”….

Sort:  

thanks for vote...i have Resteem Your Post...and upvoted you. Its really good article...hope you will upvote and like my posts and resteem my post on you wall...

thanks for upvote me....i have voted you..also..
Attention Please!
Try New Method for upvoting on steemit..
https://steemit.com/upvote/@shahidahmed/upvote-to-partcipate-best-way-together-we-

Appreciate it...you are on my follow list...thanks.

mention not...bobreedo...

It's all Magic, Beauty, and Love.
ZbKDI.jpg

Scientifically proven!

its all fun

New_Intro.gif

Congrats this post was randomly resteemed & upvoted by @superbot

Follow @superbot First and then Transfer 0.100 STEEM/STEEM DOLLAR to @superbot & the URL in the
memo that you want Resteemed + get Upvoted & Followed By @superbot and 1 Partner Account.

Your post will Appear in the feed of 1100+ Followers :)

So don't waste any time ! Get More Followers and gain more Visibility With @superbot

#Note - Please don't send amount less than 0.100 Steem/Steem Dollar ,Also a post can only be resteemed once.

If you would like to support this bot , Please don't forget to upvote this post :)
Stay Super !

New_Intro2.gif

Hi @bobreedo

while its not a magic wand, as someone who has been professionally supporting people with disabilities for over 20 years, I would just like to make a recommendation, if you are interested.
There are many ways to work with people with autism, and I have found that the majority of them have been (I hope this is changing) focussed on trying to bring the person out of their internal world, where they feel safe and comfortable, into ours, where they dont.
There is a place in Massachusettes, USA, called The Autism Treatment Centre of America, where a program called the Sonrise Program. This program was created in the 70's, and has at its core the idea that we will only ever connect with someone with autism if we are willing to join them in their world, without judgement, and in the process build a bridge for them to gradually find a safe way into ours.
I have seen amazing resluts with this program, and would highly recommend checking it our if you are interested.
The website is http://www.autismtreatmentcenter.org/
All the best with your journey.
Cheers @goldiemr

Very much appreciate the recommendation...will look into.

You're welcome. Good luck.

Although not dealing with autism in my family, I can certainly identify with your feelings. I have tried to enjoy the "magic" moments and am trying to do what I can - while learning to be at peace with what I really can't control.
You probable know this - but there is a medical show where the lead character, a doctor, is autistic. The show is called, "The Good Doctor".
I understand that it has mixed reviews on how it deals with autism, but thought you might want to check it out.

Thank you for your caring thoughts.

there are now marijuana strains that help with autism. I hope your in a country where this kind of medicine is allowed.. nice writing Thanks :)

They might need to leave the USA for treatment.

Thanks for those insights.

You don't upvote?

Not sure what that means...

Do you see the up arrow next to the left of the $0.00?

We have friends who have kids afflicted with autism at various levels. It is sometimes disheartening to see them search for answers and solutions. It would be great if we can discover what causes autism and take measures to minimise their occurrence. The search for the proverbial magic wand.

Thanks for your sharing...yes its exhausting as a parent to work with a child having this affliction.

I really loved this, you found a way to show that even though "movie magic" isn't real that it doesn't mean magic doesn't exist in the real world. Our actions and words can be just as powerful. Will be following :)

Thanks for the kind words...

Thanks for sharing your story and I wish your grandson the very best in life.

Thank you.

upvoted. good post

Thank you.

It's the rate auction..may be a magic..hehe thanks @bobreedo

"rate auction"?

in a certain way at that age I think it's sensational to see life that way

We all need a bit of that...thanks.

Awesome words of wisdom... Upvoted by Wiredwizard

Very appreciative.

You may not have a magic wand but you kindness and care to others makes you there fairy. You may not know it but then, you have made them feel like you are. that's for sure.

Appreciate the kind thoughts...

Good post

Thank you.

"Grampy, it's all magic!" <-- This phrase just made my day

Glad to hear...

Your post is so beautiful. I'll follow you. If you want we can have a team of follow.
@ashikurrahman

Thank you...

This had such a warming affect on my soul. I really enjoyed this read. Thank you for sharing your magical ways and magical grandkids with us.
I am Lori, by the way.

Thanks so much Lori...

Hola soy nueva en esta gran comunidad, espero tener su apoyo, como dice el un dicho: El que se arriesga no pierde nada y el que NO se arriesga no gana... Éxito

It's still magic even if you know how it's done

Nice thought.

Postingan anda sangat menarik

Nice article @bobreedo yeah its all magic.
I wish to see you in my followers list too i follow you and upvoted you..
U5dsS1AK83DhV677mLSBNcqzAvAhNF1.gif

Appreciate it...

Nice :) I invite you to me.

Thank you.

All magic 🔮✨✨

magical moments ...life isn’t magic.anigif.gif

very nice place to stay

Really a good story...May your grandson find the reality of the world not in magic world like "Disney World"
No doubt Disney World is a magic world for kids and adult too....Every one is amused irrelevant to the age.
Please upvote and follow me.

Very nice story. I can feel the passion. Gave you an up vote! Keep up the great posts.

Thank you.

Indeed! Truly magical!

Same. for those people who work in those areas. Feel that you do not understand or understand why the magic passed or passed. From there I go to the bible and understand what the divine retribution means. for heaven not for those of us who live on earth. regards

Thanks for your thoughts.

Miracle happen to those, who believe in it.
Following you now. ✌️

Thank you.

👍👍💗💗💗👏👏

Life is all about learning to appreciate the beauty around us. In times of life struggle we just need to believe in every problem that there is learning lurking within.. And we must stay positive just like in the eyes of the child.

Nice post :)

Wise thoughts...Thank you.

great post about magig i like it @bobreedo

Great post!

Thank you.

sometimes we need to believe in magic for life balance

You wrote very well.🙇🏻‍♀️🙇🏼‍♀️🙇🏽‍♀️❤️❤️

Thank you.

Life can be tough and I can't begin to imagine how you or your relatives must feel over your grandson's autism. This must be a pretty trying time.

But you are right; it is the little joys we get that make the tough times bearable. So, spend that time seeing your 4-year-old's joy at the magic he sees, spend more time holding your 14-year-old's hand, spend that time with Grammy and everyone else you hold dear so you can give life a middle finger in the face.

post.JPG

Congratulation

Today 1 year ago you joined SteemIt
Thank you, for making SteemIt great and Steem on for more years to come!

(You are being celebrated here)