Homeless Pitiful State

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hi, my name is Jacqueline Moore aka Bodygems. I am a healer, counselor, teacher, body jewerly designer, natural products innovator and poet.

Years ago I attempted to write a poetry book but never did probably due to fear. Today I found the courage to share one of my poems with my steem family.

Due to the severe cold weather we are having here in the northeast, I think and pray for the homeless. May they find warmth and love.

                               Homeless Pitiful State

Homeless woman, homeless man
With their hands out
Are they down on their luck
Are they looking for a fast buck
Mother sacrifice, giving them life
Father sacrifice, providing them with rice
How did you arrive at this pitiful state
Why are you still here in this pitiful state
Could it have been because of the lack of love you believe you received from your father
Could it have been because of the lack of love you believe you received from your mother
Could it have been because of the lack of love you believe you received from a traditional family
Is it because you felt you could no longer go on and gave up
The crack got you all wack
The cocaine takes away all the pain
The ecstasy makes you think you can sex you way out of this here pitiful state
Is it because Gaia – Lord of the earth decided to play with you or test you
Sending fire – burned you out of house and home
Sending water – washed away all of your belongings
Sending air – took the breathe right out of your mother and father
Sending earth – buried all of your family support
Is it because the boss figure he or she will decide your fate
Making you deal with the emotion hate
Regardless of your degree, regardless of your experiences and skills
He or she could not look out for you
Knowing your integrity
Now you’re sitting here in this pitiful state because you
Practically gave them your life
Oops for being human
Maybe because you simply forgot to love thyself first and foremost
Whatever or whomever brought you to this pitiful state
I will stand with you and help you tell the world
That we have asked ourselves over and over again
How did I get so caught up
I tried to stay above the level
That I believed in the system – and the system failed me
But I will keep the faith
I will survive the struggle
In order to spare the next generation of being born into this dis-ease
You know most of us are just one paycheck away
From being in this same homeless pitiful state

Sort:  

Really like how you've explored the all of the currents and causes that could land someone in what I like to call "houselessness." You've captured the experience of wondering and trying to understand and knowing you could be that person with a few wrong turns.

My one suggestion for this piece would be to consider the use of the phrase "pitiful state." I felt a little jarred each time it was repeated, and it seems like it doesn't provide enough room for dignity in the subject you are considering.

Hope to see more poems from you soon!