You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dogs: Nature vs. Nurture

in #life4 years ago

They actually have ordinances in some places that don't allow having a dog over a certain weight. They consider any large dog a dangerous breed. I think I have seen warnings about black dogs not being allowed places too. You would think Americans would have learned by now. That being said, there have been several instances where a dog (usually a rot or a pitbull) would attack their owner. Of course they never focus on the circumstances, but it is hard to say whether something else is going on or not. At the end of the day dogs are still dogs and they have instincts that can kick in no matter their disposition. I want to believe that my dog would never hurt me, and we have always been sure to place our hands near her mouth while she is eating occasionally just to be sure. There have been a couple of times though that I have needed to take a chew toy away from her because we are worried about her choking. Every now and then she gives me a growl that isn't her playful growl when I reach down. I have to step back and remind myself she is still a dog and find a different way to take it from her. Long story short, I cautiously agree with you!