Five years ago I sold almost everything I owned, now I am doing it again

in #life6 years ago (edited)

 I have been nesting down, hoarding all manner of gorgeous things and running a large emporium filled with local artisan work for the past four years. 

It has been rewarding, comfortable and wonderful. 

Up until a few months ago, it seemed a lovely way to pass the next five years too. 

Then one day, out of the blue skies of contentment, a sneaky north wind blew.

My heart started to fill with dreams of wanderlust, adventure, minimalism and a burning desire to radically uproot. 

I have always tread on the outer circle, rejecting waste and fast living, preferring to keep it simple. But somehow over the years since my last life purge, I have filled up my life with stuff. Physical and mental clutter. I am fully aware of this now. It is not really until you start to clean it up do you realise just how much you had. 

I am closing the doors to my Recycled Gallery shop in two weeks. It has been a mega effort to fold up 300 square metres of a vintage bowerbirds nest but I am almost done. 

Before the year is out, I am hitting the highway, husband and kids in tow to live from a suitcase for a while, until we wander through a place that feels like home. 

I am so much looking forward to the beauty of a minimalist lifestyle again. The fluidity and freedom to wander.   

until next time, 

xx Isabella

Sort:  

Well if the road is calling you need to hede the call.

Upvoted!! Great post.

Thanks for sharing, enjoy the vote!

So exciting! I will look forward to hearing about your travels.

Nice post, nice pictures !