Sky At Night - Rings Of Saturn | Stripes On Jupiter | Full Moon

in #life6 years ago

Here is another snap from my Lake District holiday.

IMG_9177-EDIT.jpg
Telescope At Night | Canon EOS 6D | f3.5 | 20" exposure | 14mm

I received a telescope for my Birthday last year, but have still not got the hang of using it.

I decided to take it the Lake District because I had read that Saturn was in opposition. This means that the Earth was directly between the Sun and Saturn, so the entirety of Saturn would be fully lit. This combined with fair weather, clear skies and minimal light pollution was an opportunity too good to be missed.

Unfortunately the evening also coincided with a full moon!
Moon.jpg
Full Moon | Canon EOS 6D | f5.6 | 1/13" exposure | 300mm

This meant that avoiding light pollution was pretty much impossible.

Despite this, and despite my lack of ability with the telescope we were in fact able to view the rings on Saturn (albeit a little fuzzy). As an added bonus, Jupiter was also visible in the night sky. Upon training the scope on it you could make out the stripes of the weather patterns that are synonymous with the gas giant.

I hope to learn how to better use my telescope and to eventually get an adapter to take photos using it. Watch this space (get it?)!

If you have enjoyed this post, please think about upvoting, resteeming or following.

Ta ra for now.